Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 303798888 - Kansas City Power & Light Co.

Inspection Information - Office: Wichita

 

Inspection Nr: 303798888
Report ID: 0729700
Open Date: 05/30/2001

Site Address:
Kansas City Power & Light Co.
159th & Mur-Lyn Rd
Olathe, KS 66062

Mailing Address:
4400 Front St., Kansas City, MO 64120

Union Status: Union

SIC:4911

NAICS: 0 


Inspection Type: Accident

Scope: Partial

Advanced Notice: N

Ownership: Private

Safety/Health: Safety

Close Conference: 06/06/2001

Planning Guide: Safety-Construction

Emphasis: L:Xfallelec, S:Construction Fatalities

Close Case:11/06/2001


Related Activity
Type Activity Nr Safety Health
Accident 101341758
Referral 201342326 Yes
Violation Summary
Violations/Penalties Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 4 4
Current Violations 3 3
Initial Penalty $28,000 $0 $0 $0 $0 $28,000
Current Penalty $16,800 $0 $0 $0 $0 $16,800
FTA Penalty $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# Citation ID Citaton Type Standard Issuance Date Abatement Due Date Current Penalty Initial Penalty FTA Penalty Contest Latest Event Note
1. 01001A Serious 19260950 B01 10/01/2001 11/19/2001 $5,600 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
2. 01001B Serious 19260020 B01 10/01/2001 11/19/2001 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
3. 01001C Serious 19260021 B02 10/01/2001 11/19/2001 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
4. 01002 Serious 19260950 B02 10/01/2001 11/19/2001 $5,600 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
5. 01003 Serious 19260950 C01 10/01/2001 11/19/2001 $5,600 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
6. 01004 Serious 19260950 D01 V 10/01/2001 11/19/2001 $7,000 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.

Investigation Summary

Investigation Nr: 201341989
Event: 05/29/2001
Electric Shock & Fall - Direct Contact With Overhead Line

A power line crew was in the final phases of construction of a new double-circuit overhead power line. The lower circuit was energized to the west side of the second utility pole supporting the new power line. An apprentice line worker climbed the pole to remove protective grounds on the east side of the pole. He contacted the energized side of the 7200-volt (phase-to-ground) power line, received an electric shock, and was knocked from the pole. He fell 9.8 meters to the ground. He died of his injuries.

Keywords:elec protect equip, overhead power line, electrical, power line worker, e ptd, elec utility work, electric shock, fall, utility pole

Investigated Inspection
# Inspection Age Sex Degree Nature Occupation
1 303798888 Fatality Electric Shock Electrical power installers and repairers
Back to Top

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close