Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 303445621 - Joelson Concrete Pipe Co.Inc. Dba Joelson Taylor C

Inspection Information - Office: Tampa

 

Inspection Nr: 303445621
Report ID: 0420600
Open Date: 03/28/2000

Site Address:
Joelson Concrete Pipe Co.Inc. Dba Joelson Taylor C
1150 Joelson Road
Kissimmee, FL 34744

Mailing Address:
P. O. Box 450308, Kissimmee, FL 34745

Union Status: NonUnion

SIC:3272

NAICS: 0 


Inspection Type: Accident

Scope: Complete

Advanced Notice: N

Ownership: Private

Safety/Health: Safety

Close Conference: 09/21/2000

Planning Guide: Safety-Manufacturing

Emphasis: N:Silica, S:Amputations, S:Silica

Close Case:12/12/2000


Related Activity
Type Activity Nr Safety Health
Accident 102328093
Violation Summary
Violations/Penalties Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 9 9
Current Violations 8 1 9
Initial Penalty $30,600 $0 $0 $0 $0 $30,600
Current Penalty $19,000 $0 $0 $0 $63,000 $82,000
FTA Penalty $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# Citation ID Citaton Type Standard Issuance Date Abatement Due Date Current Penalty Initial Penalty FTA Penalty Contest Latest Event Note
1. 01001 Serious 5A0001 09/21/2000 11/30/2000 $4,500 $4,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
2. 01002 Serious 19100023 C01 09/21/2000 09/26/2000 $3,000 $4,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
3. 01003 Serious 19100024 E 09/21/2000 10/26/2000 $1,000 $1,350 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
4. 01004A Serious 19100146 C01 09/21/2000 10/26/2000 $5,000 $6,300 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
5. 01004B Serious 19100146 C02 09/21/2000 10/26/2000 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
6. 01004C Serious 19100146 C04 09/21/2000 10/26/2000 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
7. 01004D Serious 19100146 G01 09/21/2000 10/26/2000 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
8. 01005 Serious 19100147 C07 I 09/21/2000 11/18/2000 $6,300 $6,300 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
9. 01006 Serious 19100212 A01 09/21/2000 10/26/2000 $1,500 $2,250 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
10. 01007A Serious 19100215 A04 09/21/2000 10/26/2000 $1,000 $1,350 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
11. 01007B Serious 19100215 B09 09/21/2000 10/26/2000 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
12. 01008 Serious 19100219 F01 09/21/2000 10/26/2000 $1,500 $2,250 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
13. 01009A Serious 19100303 B01 09/21/2000 10/26/2000 $1,500 $1,800 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
14. 01009B Serious 19100305 G01 IIIA 09/21/2000 10/26/2000 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
15. 01009C Serious 19100305 G01 IIID 09/21/2000 10/26/2000 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
16. 01009D Serious 19100305 J02 II 09/21/2000 10/26/2000 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
17. 02001A Unclass 19100147 C04 I 09/21/2000 10/26/2000 $63,000 $63,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
18. 02001B Unclass 19100147 C04 II 09/21/2000 10/26/2000 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
19. 02001C Unclass 19100147 C07 I 09/21/2000 11/18/2000 $0 $0 $0 Q - National Office Adjustment  

Investigation Summary

Investigation Nr: 202311080
Event: 03/27/2000
Employee Killed When Head Crushed By Machine

Employees were in the process of cleaning inside a 7-ft-deep pit where reinforced steel piping was manufactured. The process was conducted daily at the end of a shift while piping was still been made and a turntable inside the pit was rotated. Employee #1 suffered head injuries after being caught between a structural support beam on the carousel where the table was mounted and the hydraulic bank of the operating controls known also as motor box. Employee #1 was killed.

Keywords:beam, head, rotating parts, cleaning, caught between, crushed, pit, struck by

Investigated Inspection
# Inspection Age Sex Degree Nature Occupation
1 303445621 Fatality Fracture Laborers, except construction
Back to Top

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close