Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 300835196 - Memry Corp

Inspection Information - Office: Ca Foster City District Office

 

Inspection Nr: 300835196
Report ID: 0950613
Open Date: 05/17/2000

Site Address:
Memry Corp
4065 Campbell Avenue
Menlo Park, CA 94025

Mailing Address:
, , 00000

Union Status: NonUnion

SIC:7373

NAICS: 0 


Inspection Type: Accident

Scope: Partial

Advanced Notice: N

Ownership: Private

Safety/Health: Health

Close Conference: 08/24/2000

Emphasis:

Close Case:08/24/2000


Related Activity
Type Activity Nr Safety Health
Accident 101120368
Violation Summary
Violations/Penalties Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 9 17 26
Current Violations 7 17 24
Initial Penalty $60,525 $0 $0 $8,100 $0 $68,625
Current Penalty $36,560 $0 $0 $2,620 $0 $39,180
FTA Penalty $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# Citation ID Citaton Type Standard Issuance Date Abatement Due Date Current Penalty Initial Penalty FTA Penalty Contest Latest Event Note
1. 01001 Other 5188 B11 08/29/2000 08/31/2000 $0 $225 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
2. 01002 Other 5188 B06 08/29/2000 10/11/2000 $0 $450 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
3. 01003 Other 5188 B08 08/29/2000 10/11/2000 $0 $450 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
4. 01004 Other 4837 08/29/2000 10/11/2000 $0 $450 $0 10/10/2000 F - Formal Settlement  
5. 01005 Other 5502 A10 08/29/2000 10/11/2000 $0 $225 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
6. 01006 Other 5507 H 08/29/2000 10/11/2000 $0 $225 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
7. 01007 Other 3203 A 08/29/2000 10/11/2000 $1,125 $1,350 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
8. 01008 Other 5194 E01 08/29/2000 10/11/2000 $0 $450 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
9. 01009 Other 4650 H 08/29/2000 09/01/2000 $0 $450 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
10. 01010 Other 6151 G01 08/29/2000 10/11/2000 $560 $675 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
11. 01011 Other 23400016 A 08/29/2000 09/01/2000 $0 $450 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
12. 01012 Other 3368 B 08/29/2000 08/31/2000 $0 $225 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
13. 01013 Other 3272 B 08/29/2000 09/01/2000 $185 $225 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
14. 01014 Other 5549 A 08/29/2000 09/01/2000 $0 $450 $0 10/10/2000 F - Formal Settlement  
15. 01015 Other 5188 A02 08/29/2000 10/11/2000 $0 $900 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
16. 01016 Other 3221 C 08/29/2000 10/11/2000 $0 $450 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
17. 01017 Other 342 A 08/29/2000 09/01/2000 $375 $450 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
18. 02001 Serious 5188 B11 08/29/2000 09/01/2000 $0 $4,050 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
19. 03001 Serious 3225 D 08/29/2000 08/31/2000 $5,060 $6,075 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
20. 04001 Serious 5162 A 08/29/2000 09/01/2000 $3,375 $4,050 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
21. 05001 Serious 5162 B 08/29/2000 09/01/2000 $0 $4,050 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
22. 06001 Serious 5164 A 08/29/2000 10/11/2000 $3,375 $4,050 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
23. 07001 Serious 5188 A01 08/29/2000 09/01/2000 $18,000 $18,000 $0 10/10/2000 F - Formal Settlement  
24. 08001 Serious 3380 C 08/29/2000 10/11/2000 $6,750 $8,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
25. 09001 Serious 3380 E 08/29/2000 10/11/2000 $0 $8,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
26. 10001 Other 5194 H02 E 08/29/2000 09/01/2000 $375 $4,050 $0 A - Amendment  

Investigation Summary

Investigation Nr: 201122967
Event: 05/05/2000
Employee'S Face Burned By Molten Salt Splash

In the summer of 2000, Employee #1 was dipping cadmium-titanium alloy stents in a 1,000 degrees F molten salt mixture of sodium nitrate and potassium nitrate, strong oxidizers, and isopropyl alcohol. He dipped the stents while they were still wet, creating a violent reaction with the oxidizers in the salt mixture, as the heated oxidizers were incompatible with water. The resulting violent eruption struck Employee #1's forearm and face. He was wearing a defective gauntlet and no face protection, and sustained second-degree burns on both his arms and face. The fire department was called and Employee #1 was treated before being transported to the hospital. Subsequent investigation determined that before and after the accident, (1) coworkers at this location were storing wet and dry parts next to each other, increasing the likelihood of wet parts being mistaken for dry parts; (2) an eye wash station was not provided in the area where the accident occurred, and it was left to fire department personnel to take Employee #1 to an eye wash station; and (3) PPE was neither worn nor enforced. Employee #1 was wearing only a baseball cap instead of a face shield, even though his supervisor working next to him.

Keywords:burn, protective clothing, ppe, work rules, explosion, chemical reaction, chemical burn, arm, face, high temperature

Investigated Inspection
# Inspection Age Sex Degree Nature Occupation
1 300835196 Hospitalized injury Burn(Chemical) Industrial engineering technicians
Back to Top

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close