Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 300107893 - Iss International Service System Inc.

Inspection Information - Office: Cleveland

 

Inspection Nr: 300107893
Report ID: 0522300
Open Date: 06/24/1997

Site Address:
Iss International Service System Inc.
200 Public Square
Cleveland, OH 44114

Mailing Address:
2332 Prospect Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44115

Union Status: Union

SIC:7349

NAICS: 0 


Inspection Type: Accident

Scope: Partial

Advanced Notice: N

Ownership: Private

Safety/Health: Safety

Close Conference: 06/26/1997

Emphasis: L:Fall

Close Case:03/25/1998


Related Activity
Type Activity Nr Safety Health
Accident 100100106
Violation Summary
Violations/Penalties Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 1 2 3
Current Violations 2 1 3
Initial Penalty $2,250 $99,000 $0 $0 $0 $101,250
Current Penalty $4,000 $51,500 $0 $0 $0 $55,500
FTA Penalty $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# Citation ID Citaton Type Standard Issuance Date Abatement Due Date Current Penalty Initial Penalty FTA Penalty Contest Latest Event Note
1. 01001 Serious 19100066 I02 VI 12/22/1997 01/24/1998 $2,000 $2,250 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
2. 02001A Serious 19100066 G04 VI 12/22/1997 12/28/1997 $2,000 $49,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
3. 02001B Willful 19100066 J 12/22/1997 12/28/1997 $0 $0 $0 -  
4. 02002A Willful 19100066 I01 IIA 12/22/1997 12/28/1997 $49,500 $49,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
5. 02002B Serious 19100066 I01 IIC 12/22/1997 12/28/1997 $2,000 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
6. 02002C Willful 19100066 I01 IID 12/22/1997 12/28/1997 $0 $0 $0 -  
7. 02002D Serious 19100066 I01 IIE 12/22/1997 12/28/1997 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
8. 02002E Serious 19100066 I01 IV 12/22/1997 12/28/1997 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  

Investigation Summary

Investigation Nr: 200100147
Event: 06/24/1997
Employee Killed In Fall When Suspended Scaffold Fails

Employee #1 and a coworker were using a two-point suspension scaffold supported by aluminum davits to wash windows on a high-rise building. They had just completed a drop and were ascending to the porch on the thirty-eighth floor. They were nearly there when the left side of the scaffold dropped. Employee #1 fell and was killed. The workers were supplied with independent lifelines and both were wearing full body harnesses with lanyards, but Employee #1 was not attached to his lifeline.

Keywords:window washer, lifeline, unsecured, work rules, equipment failure, two pt susp scaffold, fall, elevated work plat, tie-off, scaffold

Investigated Inspection
# Inspection Age Sex Degree Nature Occupation
1 300107893 Fatality Other Occupation not reported
Back to Top

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close