Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 2195295 - American Bridge - Division U.S. Steel Corporation

Inspection Information - Office: Kansas City

 

Inspection Nr: 2195295
Report ID: 0728500
Open Date: 12/17/1985

Site Address:
American Bridge - Division U.S. Steel Corporation
1101 Main Street
Kansas City, MO 64106

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 26098, Kansas City, MO 64196

Union Status: Union

SIC:1791

NAICS: 0 


Inspection Type: Accident

Scope: Complete

Advanced Notice: N

Ownership: Private

Safety/Health: Safety

Close Conference: 01/17/1986

Planning Guide: Safety-Construction

Emphasis:

Close Case:02/13/1986


Related Activity
Type Activity Nr Safety Health
Accident 360554158
Violation Summary
Violations/Penalties Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 6 2 8
Current Violations 4 3 7
Initial Penalty $4,100 $0 $0 $0 $0 $4,100
Current Penalty $1,700 $0 $0 $0 $0 $1,700
FTA Penalty $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# Citation ID Citaton Type Standard Issuance Date Abatement Due Date Current Penalty Initial Penalty FTA Penalty Contest Latest Event Note
1. 01001 Serious 19260028 A 01/17/1986 01/20/1986 $900 $900 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
2. 01002 Serious 19260105 A 01/17/1986 01/20/1986 $700 $800 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
3. 01003 Other 19260450 A01 01/17/1986 01/20/1986 $0 $400 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
4. 01004 Serious 19260500 D01 01/17/1986 01/20/1986 $400 $800 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
5. 01005 Serious 19260752 A03 01/17/1986 01/23/1986 $100 $400 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
6. 01006 Serious 19260752 J 01/17/1986 01/20/1986 $500 $800 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
7. 02001 Other 19260025 A 01/17/1986 01/24/1986 $0 $0 $0 -  
8. 02002 Other 19260400 H03 I 01/17/1986 01/23/1986 $0 $0 $0 -  

Investigation Summary

Investigation Nr: 14504328
Event: 12/17/1985
Fall Through Floor Hole In Decking Panel Floor

AN EMPLOYEE FELL 38FT. WHEN HE STEPPED OVER A 39IN. WIDE X 30FT. HOLE IN THE PRVIOUSLY DECKED 2ND. FLOOR (EXCEPT FOR THIS HOLE) AND MISSED OR LOST HIS FOOTING WHEN HE WAS ROLLING UP A SAFETY NET. EMPLOYEE WAS ROLLING UP SAFETY NET ON THE SECOND FLOOR OF QUANDRANT C OF THE RETAIL SECTION. THIS SECTION HAD BEEN DECKED EXCEPT FOR A SECTION 39 INCH WIDE 30 FT LONG. THE EMPLOYEE WAS STEPPING OVER THIS OPEN SECTION WHEN HE EITHER SLIPPED OR LOST HIS BALANCE AND FELL 38 FT TO THE GROUND LEVEL. HE SUFFERED SEVERE HEAD TRUMA THAT LED TO HIS DEATH.

Keywords:building, decking panel, fall, floor opening, erection process, iron worker, construction, steel erection, net

Investigated Inspection
# Inspection Age Sex Degree Nature Occupation
1 2195295 Fatality Concussion Occupation not reported
Back to Top

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close