Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Case Status: CLOSED

Inspection: 1505885.015 - Express Carriers Corporation

Inspection Information - Office: Calumet City

 

Inspection Nr: 1505885.015
Report ID: 0521700
Open Date: 12/10/2020

Site Address:
Express Carriers Corporation
3301 Wireton Rd., Unit 100s
Blue Island, IL 60406

Mailing Address:
3301 Wireton Rd. Unit 100s, Blue Island, IL 60406

Union Status: NonUnion

SIC:

NAICS: 532120/ Truck, Utility Trailer, and RV (Recreational Vehicle) Rental and Leasing


Inspection Type: Fat/Cat

Scope: Partial

Advanced Notice: N

Ownership: Private

Safety/Health: Safety

Close Conference: 12/10/2020

Emphasis: L:Fall, L:Piv

Close Case:05/16/2022


Related Activity
Type Activity Nr Safety Health
Accident 1703398
Case Status: CLOSED
Violation Summary
Violations/Penalties Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 3 3 6
Current Violations 3 2 5
Initial Penalty $32,767 $0 $0 $10,533 $0 $43,300
Current Penalty $24,500 $0 $0 $500 $0 $25,000
FTA Penalty $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# Citation ID Citaton Type Standard Issuance Date Abatement Due Date Current Penalty Initial Penalty FTA Penalty Contest Latest Event Note
1. 01001 Serious 5A0001 04/21/2021 05/17/2021 $10,000 $13,653 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
2. 01002 Serious 19100027 A 04/21/2021 05/17/2021 $4,500 $5,461 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
3. 01003A Serious 19100178 L03 I A 04/21/2021 06/08/2021 $10,000 $13,653 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
4. 01003B Serious 19100178 L03 II A 04/21/2021 06/08/2021 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
5. 02001 Other 19040029 A 04/21/2021 05/17/2021 $500 $780 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
6. 02002 Other 19040039 A01 04/21/2021 $9,753 $9,753 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
7. 02003 Other 19100178 L04 III 04/21/2021 06/08/2021 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  

Investigation Summary

Investigation Nr: 131601.015
Event: 11/25/2020
Employee Is Killed By Overturned Forklift Truck

At 3:33 p.m. on November 25, 2020, Employee #1, a mechanic, was installing a lig ht on a utility from a pallet raised by the forks of a Toyota Forklift Truck Mod el #8FGCU25. The forklift truck became stuck in mud and/or asphalt millings. A c oworker attempted to pull the forklift truck out of mud and/or asphalt millings using tow chains and a Freightliner Semi-Tractor. Tow chains were attached to on e tow hook on the passenger side of the front of a semi-tractor and around the f rame (i.e., vertical bars supporting the overhead guard) of the forklift directl y behind the operator's seat. Employee #1 was in the operator's seat of the fork lift attempting to reverse the forklift while the coworker operated the semi-tra ctor. When the coworker accelerated the semi-tractor in reverse, the forklift ti pped over onto its side pinning Employee #1's head to the ground by the overhead guard of the forklift. Employee #1 was killed by multiple blunt force injuries.

Keywords:blunt force, blunt force trauma, crushed, forklift, installing, overturn, pallet, pinned, powered industrial vehicle, tractor trailer

Investigated Inspection
# Inspection Age Sex Degree Nature Occupation
1 1505885.015 Fatality Bus, truck and stationary engine mechanics
Back to Top

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close