Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Case Status: CLOSED

Inspection: 1501771.015 - Gene Haile Excavating, Inc.

Inspection Information - Office: Kansas City

 

Inspection Nr: 1501771.015
Report ID: 0728500
Open Date: 11/05/2020

Site Address:
Gene Haile Excavating, Inc.
31571 Old Eighty Seven
California, MO 65018

Mailing Address:
31571 Old Eighty Seven, California, MO 65018

Union Status: NonUnion

SIC:

NAICS: 237110/Water and Sewer Line and Related Structures Construction


Inspection Type: Fat/Cat

Scope: Partial

Advanced Notice: N

Ownership: Private

Safety/Health: Safety

Close Conference: 11/05/2020

Emphasis:

Close Case:06/14/2021


Related Activity
Type Activity Nr Safety Health
Accident 1682921
Case Status: CLOSED
Violation Summary
Violations/Penalties Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 4 4
Current Violations 3 3
Initial Penalty $16,384 $0 $0 $0 $0 $16,384
Current Penalty $12,288 $0 $0 $0 $0 $12,288
FTA Penalty $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# Citation ID Citaton Type Standard Issuance Date Abatement Due Date Current Penalty Initial Penalty FTA Penalty Contest Latest Event Note
1. 01001 Serious 19260021 B02 04/16/2021 05/06/2021 $4,096 $4,096 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
2. 01002A Serious 19260050 B 04/16/2021 05/12/2021 $4,096 $4,096 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
3. 01002B Serious 19260050 C 04/16/2021 05/12/2021 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
4. 01002C Serious 19260050 E 04/16/2021 05/12/2021 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
5. 01003 Serious 19260602 B03 04/16/2021 05/12/2021 $4,096 $4,096 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
6. 01004 Serious 19260850 A 04/16/2021 05/12/2021 $4,096 $4,096 $0 I - Informal Settlement  

Investigation Summary

Investigation Nr: 131009.015
Event: 11/04/2020
Employee Is Struck And Killed By Swinging Beam During Demoli

At 9:45 a.m. on November 4, 2020, Employee #1 and a coworker, employed by an exc avation and construction company, were working at the site of a bridge demolitio n. The coworker was operating an excavator which had a beam rigged to the bucke t. According to the coworker, Employee #1 was standing in close proximity to th e bucket - 5 or 6 feet away - and observing/spotting the beam removal. During o peration of the excavator, the beam and bucket swung and struck Employee #1, cau sing blunt force traumatic injuries to his head, chest, and abdomen. Employee # 1 was killed.

Keywords:abdomen, beam, blunt force trauma, bridge, bucket , chest, construction, demolition, excavator, head, inspecting, material handling, struck by, untrained

Investigated Inspection
# Inspection Age Sex Degree Nature Occupation
1 1501771.015 Fatality Construction laborers
Back to Top

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close