Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Case Status: CLOSED

Inspection: 1494222.015 - Brothers Construction Llc

Inspection Information - Office: Sioux Falls Area Office

 

Inspection Nr: 1494222.015
Report ID: 0830400
Open Date: 09/14/2020

Site Address:
Brothers Construction Llc
14648 423rd Avenue
Bristol, SD 57219

Mailing Address:
511 Cottonwood Drive, Harrisburg, SD 57032

Union Status: NonUnion

SIC:

NAICS: 238130/Framing Contractors


Inspection Type: Fat/Cat

Scope: Complete

Advanced Notice: Y

Ownership: Private

Safety/Health: Safety

Close Conference: 09/14/2020

Emphasis: L:Fall

Close Case:03/21/2022


Related Activity
Type Activity Nr Safety Health
Accident 1664321
Inspection 1494281 Yes
Case Status: CLOSED
Violation Summary
Violations/Penalties Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 4 1 5
Current Violations 3 1 4
Initial Penalty $12,874 $0 $3,511 $0 $0 $16,385
Current Penalty $7,200 $0 $0 $2,500 $0 $9,700
FTA Penalty $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# Citation ID Citaton Type Standard Issuance Date Abatement Due Date Current Penalty Initial Penalty FTA Penalty Contest Latest Event Note
1. 01001 Serious 19100178 L01 I 01/27/2021 03/23/2021 $2,000 $3,511 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
2. 01002 Serious 19260451 C02 IV 01/27/2021 02/23/2021 $2,341 $2,341 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
3. 01003A Serious 19260502 A02 01/27/2021 03/23/2021 $2,200 $3,511 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
4. 01003B Serious 19260502 D21 01/27/2021 03/23/2021 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
5. 01004 Serious 19260760 A01 01/27/2021 03/23/2021 $3,000 $3,511 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
6. 01005 Other 19260503 B01 01/27/2021 03/23/2021 $2,500 $3,511 $0 I - Informal Settlement  

Investigation Summary

Investigation Nr: 129746.015
Event: 09/07/2020
Employee Is Killed In Fall From Roof

At 11:00 a.m. on September 7, 2020, Employee #1, employed by a construction comp any, was installing steel corrugated roofing material to the roof of a one-story commercial building as part of a multi-employer construction project. He was w orking from the personnel basket of an aerial lift, but he stepped onto the roof to stand on sheets of roofing material that were being blown by the wind. As h e continued working, he fell and struck the concrete floor, a fall height of 16 feet. Employee #1 sustained blunt force traumatic injuries and was killed.

Keywords:aerial lift, blunt force trauma, concrete, construction, fall, fall protection, high wind, installing, material handling, metal decking, personnel cage, roof, roofer, struck against, windy

Investigated Inspection
# Inspection Age Sex Degree Nature Occupation
1 1494222.015 Fatality Construction laborers
Back to Top

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close