Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Case Status: CLOSED

Inspection: 1493955.015 - Burris Logistics

Inspection Information - Office: Wilmington

 

Inspection Nr: 1493955.015
Report ID: 0317300
Open Date: 09/23/2020

Site Address:
Burris Logistics
111 Reese Avenue
Harrington, DE 19952

Mailing Address:
Po Box219, Milford, DE 19963

Union Status: Union

SIC:

NAICS: 424420/Packaged Frozen Food Merchant Wholesalers


Inspection Type: Fat/Cat

Scope: Partial

Advanced Notice: N

Ownership: Private

Safety/Health: Safety

Close Conference: 09/23/2020

Emphasis:

Close Case:09/20/2021


Related Activity
Type Activity Nr Safety Health
Accident 1663411
Case Status: CLOSED
Violation Summary
Violations/Penalties Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 3 3
Current Violations 1 1 2
Initial Penalty $42,130 $0 $0 $0 $0 $42,130
Current Penalty $12,288 $0 $0 $1,000 $0 $13,288
FTA Penalty $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# Citation ID Citaton Type Standard Issuance Date Abatement Due Date Current Penalty Initial Penalty FTA Penalty Contest Latest Event Note
1. 01001 Other 19100022 A03 03/22/2021 04/15/2021 $1,000 $5,266 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
2. 01002 Serious 19100147 C07 I 03/22/2021 04/15/2021 $12,288 $12,288 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
3. 01003A Serious 19100212 A01 03/22/2021 04/15/2021 $12,288 $12,288 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
4. 01003B Serious 19100219 E01 I 03/22/2021 04/15/2021 $0 $12,288 $0 I - Informal Settlement  

Investigation Summary

Investigation Nr: 129723.015
Event: 09/22/2020
Employee Is Killed After Being Pulled Into Conveyor Belt

At 8:15 p.m. on September 22, 2020, an employee was attempting to locate boxes o f frozen foods that became wedged in a conveyor belt when he became caught in th e belt. The employee was killed, most likely from asphyxiation.

Keywords:asphyxiated, belt conveyor, caught between, caught by, caught in, conveyor, conveyor belt, crushed, emergency stop, energized, entangled, fall, food processing, guard, lockout, lockout/tagout, machine guarding, materi

Investigated Inspection
# Inspection Age Sex Degree Nature Occupation
1 1493955.015 Fatality Laborers, except construction
Back to Top

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close