Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Case Status: CLOSED

Inspection: 1481013.015 - Polytemp Corporation

Inspection Information - Office: Maryland Hlth Reg 1

 

Inspection Nr: 1481013.015
Report ID: 0352450
Open Date: 06/29/2020

Site Address:
Polytemp Corporation
7950 Oceano Avenue
Jessup, MD 20794

Mailing Address:
1116 Middle River Road, Middle River, MD 21220

Union Status: Union

SIC:

NAICS: 423730/Warm Air Heating and Air-Conditioning Equipment and Supplies Merchant Wholesalers


Inspection Type: Fat/Cat

Scope: Partial

Advanced Notice: N

Ownership: Private

Safety/Health: Safety

Close Conference: 12/01/2020

Emphasis:

Close Case:02/09/2021


Related Activity
Type Activity Nr Safety Health
Accident 1612550
Inspection 1481169 Yes
Case Status: CLOSED
Violation Summary
Violations/Penalties Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 3 3
Current Violations 2 2
Initial Penalty $6,825 $0 $0 $0 $0 $6,825
Current Penalty $890 $0 $0 $0 $0 $890
FTA Penalty $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# Citation ID Citaton Type Standard Issuance Date Abatement Due Date Current Penalty Initial Penalty FTA Penalty Contest Latest Event Note
1. 01001 Serious 19100028 B15 12/23/2020 01/04/2021 $445 $2,275 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
2. 01002 Serious 19100178 L01 I 12/23/2020 01/19/2021 $445 $2,275 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
3. 01003 Serious 19100335 A01 I 12/23/2020 01/04/2021 $2,275 $2,275 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.

Investigation Summary

Investigation Nr: 127397.015
Event: 06/26/2020
Employee Is Dead After Falling From Order Picker

At 12:59 p.m. on June 26, 2020, an employee was working for a merchant wholesale r of warm air heating and air conditioning equipment and supplies (HVAC equipmen t). He was operating a Jungheinrich model number EKS314 order-picker-style forkl ift. He had been permitted to operate the order-picker to make a repair to an ov erhead door. He had not received formal instruction on the operation of the orde r-picker. He was working at a height of approximately 2.4 meters (8 feet), makin g repairs to the door. He was not wearing fall protection. He fell from the orde r-picker and landed on concrete between a wall and a forklift guardrail next to the overhead door he was troubleshooting. He was dead. It could not be determine d whether he had experienced a medical emergency or he died from injuries due to the fall.

Keywords:door, elevated work plat, fall, fall protection, forklift, maintenance, order-picker , training, walking surface, work rules

Investigated Inspection
# Inspection Age Sex Degree Nature Occupation
1 1481013.015 Fatality Occupation Not Listed
Back to Top

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close