Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Case Status: OPEN

Note: The following inspection has not been indicated as closed. Please be aware that the information shown may change, e.g. violations may be added or deleted. For open cases, in which a citation has been issued, the citation information may not be available for 5 days following receipt by the employer for Federal inspections or for 30 days following receipt by the employer for State inspections.

Inspection: 1478605.015 - A Tyler Landscaping

Inspection Information - Office: Pittsburgh

 

Inspection Nr: 1478605.015
Report ID: 0317500
Open Date: 06/12/2020

Site Address:
A Tyler Landscaping
200 Crescent Garden Drive
Pittsburgh, PA 15235

Mailing Address:
6935 Kelly Streeet, Pittsburgh, PA 15208

Union Status: NonUnion

SIC:

NAICS: 561730/Landscaping Services


Inspection Type: Fat/Cat

Scope: Complete

Advanced Notice: N

Ownership: Private

Safety/Health: Safety

Close Conference: 06/12/2020

Emphasis:

Close Case:


Related Activity
Type Activity Nr Safety Health
Accident 1605022
Case Status: OPEN
Violation Summary
Violations/Penalties Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 2 1 3
Current Violations 2 1 3
Initial Penalty $6,940 $0 $0 $2,892 $0 $9,832
Current Penalty $5,000 $0 $0 $0 $0 $5,000
FTA Penalty $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# Citation ID Citaton Type Standard Issuance Date Abatement Due Date Current Penalty Initial Penalty FTA Penalty Contest Latest Event Note
1. 01001A Serious 19100067 C02 V 11/10/2020 $1,000 $2,892 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
2. 01001B Serious 19100132 F01 11/10/2020 11/23/2020 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
3. 01002A Serious 19100333 C03 11/10/2020 $4,000 $4,048 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
4. 01002B Serious 19100333 C03 I A 1 11/10/2020 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
5. 02001 Other 19040039 A01 11/10/2020 $0 $2,892 $0 I - Informal Settlement  

Investigation Summary

Investigation Nr: 126922.015
Event: 05/20/2020
Employee Is Electrocuted And Killed While Removing Tree Limb

At 2:50 p.m. on May 20, 2020, an employee was trimming tree branches near overhe ad power lines. The employee was working on a tow behind lift with a maximum re ach of 55 feet 3 inches. The employee was using a pole pruner to remove limbs f rom the tree. A 'V' shaped limb got hung up on a 23 kV overhead power line. The employee attempted to cut on the side of the limb in an effort to get the limb to fall off of the power line. The employee was electrocuted while attempting to do this. He had burn marks to his left hand and back. The employee was electr ocuted after the pole pruner and/or branch made contact with a 23 kV overhead po wer line.

Keywords:back, burn, electrocuted, hand, overhead power line, tow truck, tree limb, tree pruner, tree trimming

Investigated Inspection
# Inspection Age Sex Degree Nature Occupation
1 1478605.015 Fatality Laborers, except construction
Back to Top

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close