Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Case Status: OPEN

Note: The following inspection has not been indicated as closed. Please be aware that the information shown may change, e.g. violations may be added or deleted. For open cases, in which a citation has been issued, the citation information may not be available for 5 days following receipt by the employer for Federal inspections or for 30 days following receipt by the employer for State inspections.

Inspection: 1464642.015 - Great Lakes Tank & Vessel Llc

Inspection Information - Office: Cleveland

 

Inspection Nr: 1464642.015
Report ID: 0522300
Open Date: 02/21/2020

Site Address:
Great Lakes Tank & Vessel Llc
8101 Union Ave
Cleveland, OH 44105

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 111, Mentor, OH 44061

Union Status: NonUnion

SIC:

NAICS: 562998/All Other Miscellaneous Waste Management Services


Inspection Type: Fat/Cat

Scope: Complete

Advanced Notice: N

Ownership: Private

Safety/Health: Health

Close Conference: 08/11/2020

Emphasis: N:Svep

Close Case:


Related Activity
Type Activity Nr Safety Health
Accident 1545640
Inspection 1464356 Yes
Case Status: OPEN
Violation Summary
Violations/Penalties Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 6 11 17
Current Violations 6 11 17
Initial Penalty $80,964 $1,484,307 $0 $0 $0 $1,565,271
Current Penalty $80,964 $1,484,307 $0 $0 $0 $1,565,271
FTA Penalty $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# Citation ID Citaton Type Standard Issuance Date Abatement Due Date Current Penalty Initial Penalty FTA Penalty Contest Latest Event Note
1. 01001 Serious 19100134 D02 I B 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $13,494 $13,494 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
2. 01002 Serious 19100134 E01 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $13,494 $13,494 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
3. 01003 Serious 19100134 G02 I 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $13,494 $13,494 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
4. 01004 Serious 19100146 D05 II 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $13,494 $13,494 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
5. 01005 Serious 19100146 D09 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $13,494 $13,494 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
6. 01006 Serious 19101200 F06 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $13,494 $13,494 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
7. 02001 Willful 19100132 D01 I 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $134,937 $134,937 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
8. 02002 Willful 19100132 D01 I 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $134,937 $134,937 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
9. 02003 Willful 19100132 D01 I 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $134,937 $134,937 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
10. 02004A Willful 19100146 D03 IV 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $134,937 $134,937 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
11. 02004B Willful 19100146 D04 I 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $0 $0 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
12. 02004C Willful 19100146 D05 I 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $0 $0 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
13. 02004D Willful 19100146 E01 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $0 $0 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
14. 02004E Willful 19100146 K03 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $0 $0 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
15. 02005A Willful 19100146 D03 IV 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $134,937 $134,937 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
16. 02005B Willful 19100146 D04 I 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $0 $0 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
17. 02005C Willful 19100146 D05 I 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $0 $0 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
18. 02005D Willful 19100146 E01 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $0 $0 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
19. 02005E Willful 19100146 K03 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $0 $0 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
20. 02006A Willful 19100146 D03 IV 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $134,937 $134,937 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
21. 02006B Willful 19100146 D04 I 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $0 $0 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
22. 02006C Willful 19100146 D05 I 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $0 $0 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
23. 02006D Willful 19100146 E01 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $0 $0 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
24. 02006E Willful 19100146 K03 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $0 $0 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
25. 02007A Willful 19100146 D03 IV 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $134,937 $134,937 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
26. 02007B Willful 19100146 D04 I 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $0 $0 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
27. 02007C Willful 19100146 D05 I 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $0 $0 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
28. 02007D Willful 19100146 E01 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $0 $0 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
29. 02007E Willful 19100146 K03 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $0 $0 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
30. 02008A Willful 19100146 D03 IV 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $134,937 $134,937 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
31. 02008B Willful 19100146 D04 I 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $0 $0 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
32. 02008C Willful 19100146 D05 I 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $0 $0 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
33. 02008D Willful 19100146 E01 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $0 $0 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
34. 02008E Willful 19100146 K03 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $0 $0 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
35. 02009A Willful 19100146 D03 IV 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $134,937 $134,937 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
36. 02009B Willful 19100146 D04 I 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $0 $0 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
37. 02009C Willful 19100146 D05 I 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $0 $0 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
38. 02009D Willful 19100146 E01 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $0 $0 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
39. 02009E Willful 19100146 K03 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $0 $0 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
40. 02010A Willful 19100146 D03 IV 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $134,937 $134,937 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
41. 02010B Willful 19100146 D04 I 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $0 $0 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
42. 02010C Willful 19100146 D05 I 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $0 $0 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
43. 02010D Willful 19100146 E01 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $0 $0 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
44. 02010E Willful 19100146 K03 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $0 $0 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
45. 02011A Willful 19100146 G01 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $134,937 $134,937 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  
46. 02011B Willful 19101200 H01 08/13/2020 08/25/2020 $0 $0 $0 09/03/2020 C - Contested  

Investigation Summary

Investigation Nr: 124207.015
Event: 02/20/2020
Two Employees Are Killed By Asphyxiation In Tank Confined Sp

At 12:30 p.m. on February 20, 2020, Employee #1, employed by a structural steel fabricator and erector company, was entering a tank to clean it. The tank had a combination of Ecocure II and methyl ethyl ketone (MEK) residues and had been pu rged with nitrogen. Employee #1 entered the permit required confined space that contained the residual chemicals and nitrogen to perform the cleaning operations . She was overcome by the oxygen deficient atmosphere. Employee #2, employed by a chemical distribution company, entered the tank to make a rescue attempt for E mployee #1. He was also overcome from the oxygen deficient atmosphere. Both empl oyees were killed by asphyxiation.

Keywords:asphyxiated, cleaning, confined space, mek, nitrogen, oxygen deficiency, purging

Investigated Inspection
# Inspection Age Sex Degree Nature Occupation
1 1464642.015 Fatality Vehicle washers and equipment cleaners
Back to Top

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close