Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Case Status: CLOSED

Inspection: 1336260.015 - Bancroft Contracting Corporation

Inspection Information - Office: Augusta

 

Inspection Nr: 1336260.015
Report ID: 0111100
Open Date: 08/06/2018

Site Address:
Bancroft Contracting Corporation
Bull Hill Wind Farm 77-00-0 Off Rooute 9
Eastbrook, ME 04634

Mailing Address:
23 Phillips Road, South Paris, ME 04281

Union Status: NonUnion

SIC:

NAICS: 236220/Commercial and Institutional Building Construction


Inspection Type: Referral

Scope: Partial

Advanced Notice: N

Ownership: Private

Safety/Health: Safety

Close Conference: 08/21/2018

Emphasis: L:Crane

Close Case:11/06/2018


Related Activity
Type Activity Nr Safety Health
Referral 1367090 Yes
Case Status: CLOSED
Violation Summary
Violations/Penalties Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 2 2
Current Violations 1 1
Initial Penalty $34,923 $0 $0 $0 $0 $34,923
Current Penalty $11,641 $0 $0 $0 $0 $11,641
FTA Penalty $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# Citation ID Citaton Type Standard Issuance Date Abatement Due Date Current Penalty Initial Penalty FTA Penalty Contest Latest Event Note
1. 01001A Serious 19261412 A01 I 10/05/2018 10/16/2018 $11,641 $11,641 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
2. 01001B Serious 19261412 A01 II 10/05/2018 10/17/2018 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
3. 01001C Serious 19261434 A01 10/05/2018 10/16/2018 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
4. 01002A Serious 19261412 D01 XIV 10/05/2018 10/12/2018 $11,641 $11,641 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
5. 01002B Serious 19261416 B 10/05/2018 10/12/2018 $0 $11,641 $0 I - Informal Settlement  

Investigation Summary

Investigation Nr: 108024.015
Event: 08/05/2018
Crane Operator Fractures Lumbar Vertebra When Crane Collapse

At 8:30 a.m. on August 5, 2018, Employee #1, employed by a construction company, was operating a Luffing Boom Crane in windy conditions. He was taking wind spe ed readings when the luffing jib failed and the crane collapsed. Emergency serv ices transported the employee to the hospital, where he was admitted and treated for a fractured lumbar vertebra.

Keywords:collapse, construction, crane, equipment failure, equipment operator, fracture, jib crane, repair, struck by, vertebra, windy

Investigated Inspection
# Inspection Age Sex Degree Nature Occupation
1 1336260.015 Hospitalized injury Crane Operator
Back to Top

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close