Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Case Status: CLOSED

Inspection: 1272106.015 - 106668 - Autoneum North America Incorporated

Inspection Information - Office: Indiana

 

Inspection Nr: 1272106.015
Report ID: 0551800
Open Date: 10/23/2017

Site Address:
106668 - Autoneum North America Incorporated
100 River Ridge Parkway
Watson, IN 47130

Mailing Address:
100 River Ridge Parkway, Watson, IN 47130

Union Status: NonUnion

SIC:3714

NAICS: 336399/All Other Motor Vehicle Parts Manufacturing


Inspection Type: Fat/Cat

Scope: Partial

Advanced Notice: N

Ownership: Private

Safety/Health: Safety

Close Conference: 11/01/2017

Emphasis:

Close Case:03/15/2018


Related Activity
Type Activity Nr Safety Health
Accident 1276753
Case Status: CLOSED
Violation Summary
Violations/Penalties Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 2 3 5
Current Violations 3 3
Initial Penalty $14,000 $210,000 $0 $0 $0 $224,000
Current Penalty $14,000 $0 $0 $0 $0 $14,000
FTA Penalty $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# Citation ID Citaton Type Standard Issuance Date Abatement Due Date Current Penalty Initial Penalty FTA Penalty Contest Latest Event Note
1. 01001 Serious 22.8(1)(1)(SEC2) 11/15/2017 12/08/2017 $7,000 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
2. 01002 Serious 19100147 C07 I A 11/15/2017 02/15/2018 $7,000 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
3. 02001 Willful 19100147 C04 I 11/15/2017 12/20/2017 $70,000 $70,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
4. 02002 Serious 19100219 D01 11/15/2017 02/15/2018 $7,000 $70,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
5. 02003 Serious 19100219 E03 I 11/15/2017 02/15/2018 $0 $70,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement  

Investigation Summary

Investigation Nr: 100200.015
Event: 10/21/2017
Employee Is Killed When Hoodie Is Caught By Fiber Reclaim Ma

On October 21, 2017, an employee was working for a firm that manufactured motor vehicle parts. The company manufactured textiles used for noise control and ther mal insulation. The employee was working with a Feilong line reclaim machine or pre-opener reclaim machine. An area of the machine allowed material fibers to es cape and spray or fall into a surrounding area. The perimeter of the machine was guarded by a yellow painted fencing system. The employee entered the space encl osed by the perimeter to cover the area where the fibers escaped. She accessed t he back of the machine through an interlocked door. As she was in the space past the interlocked door, she reached over to grab a fiber pad to cover the open sp ace. She was wearing a hooded sweatshirt, or hoodie, that was very large and loo se-fitting. Her hoodie became entangled in a still rapidly moving belt and spinn ing pulley on the machine. The injuries she sustained were so extensive that she was killed.

Keywords:access/egress, belt, caught by, clothing, interlock, machine guarding, pulley, rotating parts, textile production, thermal insulation

Investigated Inspection
# Inspection Age Sex Degree Nature Occupation
1 1272106.015 Fatality Occupation not reported
Back to Top

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close