Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 124668161 - Inchem, Inc.

Inspection Information - Office: South Carolina Priv

 

Inspection Nr: 124668161
Report ID: 0454510
Open Date: 10/02/1995

Site Address:
Inchem, Inc.
800 Cel-River Rd.
Rock Hill, SC 29730

Mailing Address:
, , 00000

Union Status: NonUnion

SIC:2819

NAICS: 0 


Inspection Type: Accident

Scope: Partial

Advanced Notice: N

Ownership: Private

Safety/Health: Safety

Close Conference: 10/26/1995

Planning Guide: Safety-Manufacturing

Emphasis:

Close Case:02/06/1996


Related Activity
Type Activity Nr Safety Health
Accident 362628521
Violation Summary
Violations/Penalties Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 4 1 5
Current Violations 3 1 4
Initial Penalty $9,250 $0 $0 $0 $0 $9,250
Current Penalty $2,700 $0 $0 $0 $0 $2,700
FTA Penalty $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# Citation ID Citaton Type Standard Issuance Date Abatement Due Date Current Penalty Initial Penalty FTA Penalty Contest Latest Event Note
1. 01001 Serious 19100120 Q01 11/09/1995 12/14/1995 $1,000 $2,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
2. 01002 Serious 19100252 A01 I 11/09/1995 11/15/1995 $700 $1,750 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
3. 01003 Serious 19101200 H 11/09/1995 11/20/1995 $2,500 $2,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
4. 01004A Serious 19100119 C01 11/09/1995 01/15/1996 $1,000 $2,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
5. 01004B Serious 19100119 J02 11/09/1995 01/15/1996 $0 $0 $0 -  
6. 01004C Serious 19100119 J02 11/09/1995 01/15/1996 $0 $0 $0 -  
7. 02001 Other 19100119 K02 11/09/1995 11/15/1995 $0 $0 $0 -  

Investigation Summary

Investigation Nr: 674929
Event: 09/29/1995
Employees Burned In Benzoyl Peroxide Powder Fire

Employee #4 was using an oxyacetylene torch to cut metal floor grading so it could be removed and a new reactor installed. Sparks from the cutting operation came into contact with a box of Lucidol 98, which is very sensitive to heat, and a flash fire occurred. Employee #1 was sitting at a desk adjacent to the cutting operation studying standard operating procedures. He was burned over 50 percent of his body and was transported to the Augusta Burn Center. Employees # 2, #3, and #4 suffered burns to their arms, hands, and backs, but are now back at work.

Keywords:work rules, spark, hand, burn, acetylene torch, fire, welding, back, arm, cutting and burning

Investigated Inspection
# Inspection Age Sex Degree Nature Occupation
1 124668161 Hospitalized injury Burn/Scald(Heat) Chemical technicians
Back to Top

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close