Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 123438632 - Clay County Electric Co-Op

Inspection Information - Office: Little Rock

 

Inspection Nr: 123438632
Report ID: 0627100
Open Date: 10/19/2000

Site Address:
Clay County Electric Co-Op
1- 2 Miles North Of Pocahontas On Hwy. 67 North
Pocahontas, AR 72455

Mailing Address:
P. O. Box 459, Corning, AR 72422

Union Status: NonUnion

SIC:4911

NAICS: 0 


Inspection Type: Accident

Scope: Partial

Advanced Notice: N

Ownership: Private

Safety/Health: Safety

Close Conference: 03/16/2001

Emphasis:

Close Case:05/08/2001


Related Activity
Type Activity Nr Safety Health
Accident 100260900
Violation Summary
Violations/Penalties Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 3 1 4
Current Violations 2 1 3
Initial Penalty $10,350 $0 $0 $3,000 $0 $13,350
Current Penalty $5,300 $0 $0 $1,000 $0 $6,300
FTA Penalty $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# Citation ID Citaton Type Standard Issuance Date Abatement Due Date Current Penalty Initial Penalty FTA Penalty Contest Latest Event Note
1. 01001A Serious 19100269 A02 IIA 04/17/2001 05/04/2001 $4,500 $4,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
2. 01001B Serious 19100269 A02 IIB 04/17/2001 05/04/2001 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
3. 01001C Serious 19100269 A02 IID 04/17/2001 05/04/2001 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
4. 01001D Serious 19100269 A02 IIB 04/17/2001 05/04/2001 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
5. 01002 Serious 19100269 M01 04/17/2001 05/04/2001 $0 $4,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
6. 01003 Serious 19101200 E01 04/17/2001 05/04/2001 $800 $1,350 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
7. 01004A Serious 19100269 A02 IIA 04/17/2001 05/04/2001 $4,500 $0 $0 Q - National Office Adjustment  
8. 01004B Serious 19100269 A02 IIB 04/17/2001 05/04/2001 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
9. 01004C Serious 19100269 A02 IID 04/17/2001 05/04/2001 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
10. 01004D Serious 19100269 A02 IIB 04/17/2001 05/04/2001 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
11. 02001 Other 19040002 A 04/17/2001 04/27/2001 $1,000 $3,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement  

Investigation Summary

Investigation Nr: 200261477
Event: 10/18/2000
Burn - Electrical Fault In Recloser

A foreman power line worker and an apprentice were working from the bucket of a double-bucket aerial lift. They were working at a height of between 6 and 11 meters. The two employees were performing maintenance at a recloser. The foreman threw the by-pass switch for the recloser, removed a jumper, and left it hanging. The jumper contacted the recloser and caused an electrical fault. The ensuing electric arc ignited the insulating hydraulic fluid in the recloser and the foreman's clothing. The electric arc also burned both employees. The foreman jumped or was thrown out of the bucket. He landed on the ground in the midst of burning oil and grass. He died of burns and asphyxiation from smoke inhalation. The apprentice jumped from the bucket and sprained his leg and ankle in the fall. He was hospitalized with burns to his face and back in addition to the sprains.

Keywords:burn, clothing, electric arc, electrical, power line worker, e ptd, circuit breaker, elec utility work, fall, electrical fault

Investigated Inspection
# Inspection Age Sex Degree Nature Occupation
1 123438632 Fatality Asphyxia Supervisors; electricians & power transm. install.
Back to Top

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close