Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 122195928 - Archer Daniels Midland Co.

Inspection Information - Office: Peoria

 

Inspection Nr: 122195928
Report ID: 0524500
Open Date: 12/07/1995

Site Address:
Archer Daniels Midland Co.
Adm Cogen Plant, 4666 Faries Pkwy
Decatur, IL 62526

Mailing Address:
Po Box 1470, Decatur, IL 62525

Union Status: NonUnion

SIC:2046

NAICS: 0 


Inspection Type: Accident

Scope: Partial

Advanced Notice: N

Ownership: Private

Safety/Health: Health

Close Conference: 05/28/1996

Emphasis:

Close Case:08/19/1999


Related Activity
Type Activity Nr Safety Health
Accident 360358360
Violation Summary
Violations/Penalties Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 2 2 4
Current Violations 2 2 4
Initial Penalty $4,500 $0 $0 $0 $140,000 $144,500
Current Penalty $4,500 $0 $0 $0 $140,000 $144,500
FTA Penalty $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# Citation ID Citaton Type Standard Issuance Date Abatement Due Date Current Penalty Initial Penalty FTA Penalty Contest Latest Event Note
1. 01001 Serious 5A0001 06/06/1996 09/05/1996 $2,000 $2,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
2. 01002 Serious 19100037 J 06/06/1996 09/05/1996 $2,500 $2,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
3. 02001 Unclass 19100269 D02 I 06/06/1996 06/12/1996 $70,000 $70,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
4. 02002 Unclass 19100269 D02 III 06/06/1996 06/12/1996 $70,000 $70,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement  

Investigation Summary

Investigation Nr: 200270601
Event: 01/06/1995
Seven Employees Treated For Carbon Monoxide Inhalation

On January 6, 1995, three contractor employees were removing an old waste heat duct from the gas-fired boiler room at a corn processing plant. At the time, four administrative employees were working in or near the boiler room. The contractor employees began to suffer symptoms consistent with carbon monoxide poisoning; all three had elevated levels of carboxyhemoglobin and were hospitalized. As a precaution, the four administrative employees were also taken to the hospital, where they treated and released. The source of the carbon monoxide was traced to the improperly tuned and leaking boilers.

Keywords:maintenance, vapor, ventilation, boiler, inhalation, air contamination, carboxyhemoglobin, chemical vapor, overexposure, carbon monoxide

Investigated Inspection
# Inspection Age Sex Degree Nature Occupation
1 122195928 Occupation Not Listed
Back to Top

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close