Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Case Status: CLOSED

Inspection: 1217360.015 - Coblentz Distributing, Inc.

Inspection Information - Office: Columbus

 

Inspection Nr: 1217360.015
Report ID: 0522500
Open Date: 03/15/2017

Site Address:
Coblentz Distributing, Inc.
3850 State Route 39 (Building B)
Millersburg, OH 44654

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 240, Walnut Creek, OH 44687

Union Status: NonUnion

SIC:

NAICS: 311612/Meat Processed from Carcasses


Inspection Type: Referral

Scope: Partial

Advanced Notice: N

Ownership: Private

Safety/Health: Safety

Close Conference: 03/15/2017

Emphasis: N:Amputate

Close Case:07/11/2018


Related Activity
Type Activity Nr Safety Health
Referral 1190546 Yes
Case Status: CLOSED
Violation Summary
Violations/Penalties Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 5 5
Current Violations 4 4
Initial Penalty $43,458 $0 $0 $0 $0 $43,458
Current Penalty $21,729 $0 $0 $0 $0 $21,729
FTA Penalty $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# Citation ID Citaton Type Standard Issuance Date Abatement Due Date Current Penalty Initial Penalty FTA Penalty Contest Latest Event Note
1. 01001A Serious 19100147 D 06/12/2017 06/22/2017 $7,605 $12,675 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
2. 01001B Serious 19100147 C04 I 06/12/2017 06/22/2017 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
3. 01001C Serious 19100147 C04 II 06/12/2017 06/22/2017 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
4. 01002 Serious 19100147 C07 I B 06/12/2017 06/22/2017 $5,432 $9,054 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
5. 01003 Serious 19100212 A01 06/12/2017 07/31/2017 $3,259 $5,432 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
6. 01004 Serious 19100212 A02 06/12/2017 $5,432 $9,054 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
7. 01005A Serious 19101030 G02 I 06/12/2017 06/22/2017 $4,346 $7,243 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
8. 01005B Serious 19101030 F02 I 06/12/2017 06/22/2017 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.

Investigation Summary

Investigation Nr: 93899.015
Event: 03/10/2017
Employee Amputates Finger When Unjamming Packaging Machine

At 7:00 a.m. on March 10, 2017, Employee #1, employed by a grocery products whol esaler, was setting up a Rollstock packaging machine. A plastic package and fil m jammed in the machine's guillotine cutter area. Employee #1 lifted an unsecur ed guard in an attempt to clear the jam. As she reached under the guard, the cu tter cycled and made contact with her left hand. Emergency services were called , and Employee #1 was transported to the hospital. She underwent outpatient sur gery to treat the partial amputation of her left hand's ring and middle fingers.

Keywords:amputated, amputation, blade, caught in, finger, guillotine shear, jammed, lockout/tagout, machine guarding, work rules

Investigated Inspection
# Inspection Age Sex Degree Nature Occupation
1 1217360.015 Non Hospitalized injury Laborers, except construction
Back to Top

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close