Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Case Status: CLOSED

Inspection: 1210687.015 - Greer Steel Company

Inspection Information - Office: Columbus

 

Inspection Nr: 1210687.015
Report ID: 0522500
Open Date: 02/15/2017

Site Address:
Greer Steel Company
1 Boat Street
Dover, OH 44622

Mailing Address:
624 Boulevard, Dover, OH 44622

Union Status: Union

SIC:

NAICS: 331221/Rolled Steel Shape Manufacturing


Inspection Type: Referral

Scope: Partial

Advanced Notice: N

Ownership: Private

Safety/Health: Safety

Close Conference: 02/15/2017

Emphasis: N:Amputate

Close Case:08/21/2018


Related Activity
Type Activity Nr Safety Health
Referral 1181841 Yes
Case Status: CLOSED
Violation Summary
Violations/Penalties Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 6 6
Current Violations 3 1 4
Initial Penalty $76,051 $0 $0 $0 $0 $76,051
Current Penalty $22,000 $0 $0 $8,000 $0 $30,000
FTA Penalty $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# Citation ID Citaton Type Standard Issuance Date Abatement Due Date Current Penalty Initial Penalty FTA Penalty Contest Latest Event Note
1. 01001 Serious 19100028 B03 05/02/2017 01/31/2018 $6,000 $9,054 $0 05/26/2017 F - Formal Settlement  
2. 01002A Serious 19100147 C04 II 05/02/2017 05/12/2017 $12,675 $12,675 $0 05/26/2017 F - Formal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
3. 01002B Serious 19100147 C06 I 05/02/2017 05/12/2017 $0 $0 $0 05/26/2017 F - Formal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
4. 01002C Serious 19100147 C06 II 05/02/2017 05/12/2017 $0 $0 $0 05/26/2017 F - Formal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
5. 01003 Other 19100147 C07 I A 05/02/2017 05/12/2017 $8,000 $12,675 $0 05/26/2017 F - Formal Settlement  
6. 01004 Serious 19100147 D 05/02/2017 01/31/2018 $8,000 $12,675 $0 05/26/2017 F - Formal Settlement  
7. 01005A Serious 19100212 A01 05/02/2017 01/31/2018 $8,000 $12,675 $0 05/26/2017 F - Formal Settlement  
8. 01005B Serious 19100219 C02 I 05/02/2017 01/31/2018 $0 $9,054 $0 05/26/2017 F - Formal Settlement  
9. 01005C Serious 19100219 C04 I 05/02/2017 01/31/2018 $0 $0 $0 05/26/2017 F - Formal Settlement  
10. 01007A Serious 19101030 C01 I 05/02/2017 05/12/2017 $7,243 $7,243 $0 05/26/2017 F - Formal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
11. 01007B Serious 19101030 F02 I 05/02/2017 05/12/2017 $0 $0 $0 05/26/2017 F - Formal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
12. 01007C Serious 19101030 G02 I 05/02/2017 05/12/2017 $0 $0 $0 05/26/2017 F - Formal Settlement Citation has been deleted.

Investigation Summary

Investigation Nr: 93149.015
Event: 02/08/2017
Employee Is Caught Between Rotating Slitter Heads, Resulting

At 10:30 p.m. on February 8, 2017, Employee #1 bypassed the slitter jog button o n a Stamco Slitter by jamming a metal clip in the button, in order to spray the slitter heads with solvent cleaner. The employee then began to wipe the two rota ting slitter heads with a rag. The employee's right gloved hand became caught be tween the two slitter heads, pulling his hand into the slitter. Then the in-goin g nip point between the two slitter heads crushed Employee #1's hand and forearm , resulting in fractures and amputations of three fingers, and a partial amputat ion of the other two. The employee was hospitalized for his injuries.

Keywords:amputation, caught between, cleaning fluid, crushed, finger, forearm, fracture, glove, hand, lockout/tagout, machine guarding, nip point, ppe, slitter

Investigated Inspection
# Inspection Age Sex Degree Nature Occupation
1 1210687.015 Hospitalized injury Machine operators, not specified
Back to Top

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close