Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 113460265 - The Dial Corporation

Inspection Information - Office: Naperville

 

Inspection Nr: 113460265
Report ID: 0521400
Open Date: 06/13/2000

Site Address:
The Dial Corporation
2000 Aucutt Road
Montgomery, IL 60538

Mailing Address:
, , 00000

Union Status: Union

SIC:2841

NAICS: 0 


Inspection Type: Complaint

Scope: Partial

Advanced Notice: N

Ownership: Private

Safety/Health: Safety

Close Conference: 11/03/2000

Emphasis: S:Amputations

Close Case:11/23/2001


Related Activity
Type Activity Nr Safety Health
Complaint 202500112 Yes
Violation Summary
Violations/Penalties Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 4 3 7
Current Violations 4 3 7
Initial Penalty $18,450 $189,000 $0 $0 $0 $207,450
Current Penalty $7,500 $0 $0 $0 $76,500 $84,000
FTA Penalty $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# Citation ID Citaton Type Standard Issuance Date Abatement Due Date Current Penalty Initial Penalty FTA Penalty Contest Latest Event Note
1. 01001A Serious 19100147 C07 I 12/12/2000 01/16/2001 $2,550 $6,300 $0 01/02/2001 J - ALJ Decision  
2. 01001B Serious 19100147 C07 IA 12/12/2000 01/16/2001 $0 $0 $0 01/02/2001 J - ALJ Decision  
3. 01002 Serious 19100212 A03 II 12/12/2000 12/15/2000 $1,290 $3,150 $0 01/02/2001 J - ALJ Decision  
4. 01003 Serious 19100303 G02 I 12/12/2000 01/16/2001 $1,830 $4,500 $0 01/02/2001 J - ALJ Decision  
5. 01004A Serious 19100332 B01 12/12/2000 01/16/2001 $1,830 $4,500 $0 01/02/2001 J - ALJ Decision  
6. 01004B Serious 19100333 B02 I 12/12/2000 01/16/2001 $0 $0 $0 01/02/2001 J - ALJ Decision  
7. 02001 Unclass 19100147 C04 I 12/12/2000 01/16/2001 $25,500 $63,000 $0 01/02/2001 J - ALJ Decision  
8. 02002A Unclass 19100147 D04 I 12/12/2000 01/16/2001 $25,500 $63,000 $0 01/02/2001 J - ALJ Decision  
9. 02002B Unclass 19100147 F03 II 12/12/2000 01/16/2001 $0 $0 $0 01/02/2001 J - ALJ Decision  
10. 02003A Unclass 19100333 A01 12/12/2000 01/16/2001 $25,500 $63,000 $0 01/02/2001 J - ALJ Decision  
11. 02003B Unclass 19100335 A01 I 12/12/2000 01/16/2001 $0 $0 $0 01/02/2001 J - ALJ Decision  

Investigation Summary

Investigation Nr: 200820900
Event: 08/16/1999
Employee'S Fingers Amputated In Soap Processing Machine

Employee #1, a machine operator, was scraping and cleaning parts of soap processing equipment when the scraper he was using became caught in the air lock rotary valves. His right hand was drawn between the scraper and the inside wall of the air lock; the rotating parts of the machinery crushed and amputated his thumb and index finger. Employee #1 had not locked out the equipment.

Keywords:rotating parts, amputated, finger, work rules, cleaning, caught by, thumb, lockout, hand tool

Investigated Inspection
# Inspection Age Sex Degree Nature Occupation
1 113460265 Hospitalized injury Amputation Occupation not reported
Back to Top

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close