Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 109849802 - Dow Chemical Company

Inspection Information - Office: Hartford

 

Inspection Nr: 109849802
Report ID: 0112000
Open Date: 06/14/1999

Site Address:
Dow Chemical Company
1761 Route # 12
Gales Ferry, CT 06335

Mailing Address:
, , 00000

Union Status: NonUnion

SIC:2821

NAICS: 0 


Inspection Type: Referral

Scope: Partial

Advanced Notice: N

Ownership: Private

Safety/Health: Health

Close Conference: 07/30/1999

Planning Guide: Health-Manufacturing

Emphasis: N:Psmpqv

Close Case:01/03/2000


Related Activity
Type Activity Nr Safety Health
Referral 901743088 Yes
Violation Summary
Violations/Penalties Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 7 7
Current Violations 4 1 5
Initial Penalty $28,000 $0 $0 $0 $0 $28,000
Current Penalty $8,000 $0 $0 $0 $0 $8,000
FTA Penalty $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# Citation ID Citaton Type Standard Issuance Date Abatement Due Date Current Penalty Initial Penalty FTA Penalty Contest Latest Event Note
1. 01001 Serious 19100119 D03 IC 11/04/1999 12/23/1999 $0 $5,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
2. 01002 Serious 19100119 D03 IH 11/04/1999 12/23/1999 $750 $1,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
3. 01003 Serious 19100119 F01 ID 11/04/1999 12/23/1999 $3,000 $5,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
4. 01004A Serious 19100134 H02 I 11/04/1999 11/09/1999 $750 $1,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
5. 01004B Other 19100134 H03 IB 11/04/1999 11/09/1999 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
6. 01005A Serious 19100146 K01 IIIA 11/04/1999 12/23/1999 $0 $5,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
7. 01005B Serious 19100146 L01 11/04/1999 12/23/1999 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
8. 01006 Serious 19100147 C04 IIB 11/04/1999 12/23/1999 $3,500 $5,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
9. 01007 Other 19101045 D01 11/04/1999 11/09/1999 $0 $5,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement  

Investigation Summary

Investigation Nr: 200080265
Event: 06/11/1999
Employees Evacuated Following Spill In Polymerization Unit

At 3:00 a.m. on June 11, 1999, Reactor #1, part of the ABS polymerization process at Dow Chemical Company, began to overheat as the viscosity increased and threatened to stop agitation. This would cause a runaway reaction and ultimately result in an explosion. A small leak had developed in the lower bushing of the agitator and the employer instructed an employee to tighten it with a wrench. The employer replaced the normal feed (a mixture of styrene monomer, ground rubber, and acrylonitrile) with pure styrene monomer, which has a much lower viscosity, to "flush" the process in the hope that this would stop the leak. The mixture began to spill through the lower agitator packing and at approximately 2:30 p.m., there occurred a major spill of styrene monomer (flammable) and acrylonitrile (flammable and carcinogenic). Dow evacuated the plant and called for outside assistance to stop the spill and initiate clean-up. The clean-up was completed on June 12, 1999. This was the third near-miss that Dow experienced on this unit between August, 1998 and June 11, 1999. No information on employee injuries was provided.

Keywords:leak, reactor, acrylic monomer, flammable liquid, chemical reaction, styrene, spill, accidental discharge, chemical

Investigated Inspection
# Inspection Age Sex Degree Nature Occupation
1 109849802 Occupation Not Listed
Back to Top

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close