Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 109545194 - Ryberg Construction

Inspection Information - Office: Englewood

 

Inspection Nr: 109545194
Report ID: 0830600
Date Opened: 07/17/1992

Site Address:
Ryberg Construction
781 Valley Road
Highlands Ranch, CO 80124

Mailing Address:
9900 E. Florida Ave, #12, Aurora, CO 80231

Union Status: NonUnion

SIC:1799

NAICS: 0 


Inspection Type: Accident

Scope: Complete

Advanced Notice: N

Ownership: Private

Safety/Health: Safety

Close Conference: 10/23/1992

Emphasis:

Case Closed: 03/23/1993


Related Activity
Type Activity Nr Safety Health
Accident 360979629
Violation Summary
Violations/Penalties Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 3 3 6
Current Violations 1 1 2
Initial Penalty $5,250 $0 $0 $300 $0 $5,550
Current Penalty $1,050 $0 $0 $150 $0 $1,200
FTA Penalty $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# Citation ID Citaton Type Standard Cited Issuance Date Abatement Due Date Current Penalty Initial Penalty FTA Penalty Contest Latest Event Note
1. 01001 Serious 19260021 B02 01/26/1993 02/08/1993 $2,100 $2,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
2. 01002 Serious 19260251 A01 01/26/1993 02/05/1993 $2,100 $2,100 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
3. 01003A Serious 19260021 B02 12/14/1992 12/27/1992 $1,050 $1,050 $0 -  
4. 01003B Serious 19260251 A01 12/14/1992 12/24/1992 $0 $0 $0 -  
5. 02001 Other 19260020 B01 01/26/1993 03/16/1993 $150 $300 $0 I - Informal Settlement  
6. 02002 Other 19260601 B05 12/14/1992 12/18/1992 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.
7. 02003 Other 19260602 A09 I 12/14/1992 12/18/1992 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement Citation has been deleted.

Investigation Summary

Investigation Nr: 521948
Event: 07/16/1992
Employee Dies After Being Impaled By Caterpillar Bucket

The owner of a house moving company and his two sons were moving a house on a Mack diesel truck, model #B87. While they were towing the house to a vacant lot, the house and truck became stuck on a slope. A Caterpillar 973 came on site and backed up to tow the truck and the house. The company owner directed the Cat to face the stuck truck. A 13 ft steel chain was used between the Cat and the truck. When directed to back up and pull the truck up the slope, the Cat went forward, impaling Employee #1 with a tooth of a general purpose bucket. He died of massive bodily injuries.

Keywords:impaled, loader bucket, work rules, inattention, structure moving, loader/backhoe, construction, struck by

Investigated Inspection
# Inspection Age Sex Degree Nature Occupation
1 109545194 Fatality Other Supervisors; handlers,equip-cleaners,laborers nec
Back to Top

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close