Department of Labor Logo OSHA Trade Release

April 20, 2023
Contact: Office of Communications
Phone: 202-693-1999


US Department of Labor announces new members of Maritime Advisory Committee on Occupational Safety and Health

WASHINGTON – The U.S. Department of Labor today announced the appointment of 15 members of the Maritime Advisory Committee on Occupational Safety and Health.

The committee advises OSHA on maritime issues relevant to the safety and health of employees in the maritime industry that will result in more effective enforcement, training, outreach programs and streamlined regulatory efforts.

Members will serve two-year terms beginning April 13, 2023. They represent the interests of workers, employers, occupational safety and health professional organizations, and government. The committee meets twice a year.

The appointees and their areas of expertise are as follows:

Employee Organizations:

  • Aaron Arabaski, Noble Drilling
  • Robert Fiore, International Longshoremen's Association
  • Michael Oathout, International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers
  • Adam Wetzell, International Longshore and Warehouse Union


  • Solomon Egbe, National Maritime Safety Association
  • Amy Liu, Sound Testing Inc.
  • John Ratcliffe, Virginia International Terminals LLC
  • David Turner, Yusen Terminals LLC

Safety and Health Professional Organizations:

  • Thresa Nelson, American Industrial Hygiene Association
  • Donald V. Raffo, Marine Chemist Association
  • Lawrence Russell, National Fire Protection Association


  • John Goering, U.S. Department of Transportation, Maritime Administration
  • James Rone, Washington State Department of Labor and Industries
  • Alice Shumate, National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health
  • David Ward, U.S. Coast Guard

Special Agency Liaison to MACOSH:

  • Christopher Godfrey, Office of Workers' Compensation Programs, U.S. Department of Labor

Learn more about OSHA.

# # #