Technical Editorial Board
  • Steve Butler, OSHA Directorate of Enforcement Programs, Office of Maritime Enforcement; Washington, DC
Other Members:
  • Industry

    • Ian H. Bennitt, Manager, Government Affairs, Shipbuilders Council of America; Washington, DC
    • Terry Guidry, Director of Safety, Bollinger Shipyards; Lockport, LA
    • D.G. "Doug" Howard, Business Representative/Organizer; International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local 733; Pascagoula, MS
    • Byron Johnson, Safety and Industrial Hygiene Manager, Gunderson, Inc; Portland, OR
    • Chester W. Matthews, President; Chet Matthews & Associates; Brunswick, ME
    • W.D. "Chico" McGill, Business Manager; International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local 733; Pascagoula, MS
    • Thresa Nelson, CHMM, CSP, Manager Health and Safety; Newport News Shipbuilding; Newport News, VA
    • Teresa Preston, Safety, Environmental & Quality Director, Atlantic Marine, Inc./Alabama Shipyard; Mobile, AL
    • Jim Thornton, Director, Environmental, Health and Safety; North Grumman Corporation - Newport News; Newport News, VA
    • Bob Watson; NASSCO; San Diego, CA
    • Shawn Wilkerson; Northrop Grumman, Avondale, Ind.; New Orleans, LA

  • OSHA
    • Amy Wangdahl, OSHA Directorate of Standards and Guidance, Office of Maritime; Washington, DC
Special thanks to the following for providing materials including text and/or images used in this eTool:
  • Bath Iron Works Corporation, A General Dynamics Company; Bath, Maine: Photographs to illustrate Hot Work and Confined Space modules.
  • Greg Grondin, Marine Chemist; Bath Iron Works Corporation; Bath, Maine: Technical advice regarding confined space entry and hot work compliance methodology.
  • David M. Moore, Manager of Safety; NORSHIPCO; Norfolk, VA
  • Arthur E. Osiecki, Shipyard Safety Program Coordinator; Florida Community College at Jacksonville; Jacksonville, FL
  • James E. Sammons, Safety and Environmental Manager, Moon Engineering Co., Inc. Chairman, Safety Committee of the South Tidewater Association of Ship Repairers, Inc. (STASR)
  • Phil Smith, Director of Safety; United States Marine Repair; Norfolk, VA
Past Contributors:
  • Steven M. Bossier, Director; Insurance/Risk Management; Northrop Grumman; Avondale Industries; New Orleans, LA
  • Troy Corbin, CIH/CSP, Certified Marine Chemist; Marine & Environmental Testing; Portland, OR
  • Joseph Daddura, OSHA
  • Deborah Gabry, OSHA
  • Roy Gurnham, Director; Office of Science and Technology Assessment, Directorate of Technical Support; Washington, DC
  • Carl Halgren, OSHA
  • Jim Maddox, OSHA
  • James D. Paulson, Manager, Safety & Industrial Hygiene; National Steel and Shipbuilding Company; San Diego, CA
  • Charles Thomas Pope, Area Director, OSHA; Norfolk, VA
  • Tom Savage, Bureau of Education Training and Technical Assistance (ETTA), Occupational Safety and Health, North Carolina Department of Labor (NCDOL); Raleigh, NC