Powered by GoogleTranslate

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 311363121 - Mcalister Grain Company

Inspection Information - Office: Little Rock

Nr: 311363121Report ID: 0627100Open Date: 01/17/2008

Mcalister Grain Company
8650 Phillips 300 Road
Helena, AR 72342
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC: 5153/Grain and Field Beans
NAICS: 424510/Grain and Field Bean Merchant Wholesalers

Inspection Type:Accident
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:01/28/2008
Planning Guide: Safety-Manufacturing Close Case:06/23/2008
Emphasis: L:Grain, S:Caught-In Or Between

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident100264662    

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 7 7
Current Violations 3 3
Initial Penalty $21,000 $21,000
Current Penalty $9,000 $9,000
FTA Amount

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
Deleted 1. 01001 Serious 19100272 D 05/21/2008 06/11/2008 $3,000 $3,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 2. 01002A Serious 19100272 E01 05/21/2008 06/11/2008 $3,000 $3,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 3. 01002B Serious 19100272 E02 05/21/2008 06/11/2008 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 01003A Serious 19100272 G01 I 05/21/2008 06/11/2008 $3,000 $3,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  5. 01003B Serious 19100272 G01 II 05/21/2008 06/11/2008 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  6. 01003C Serious 19100272 G01 III 05/21/2008 06/11/2008 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  7. 01003D Serious 19100272 G01 IV 05/21/2008 06/11/2008 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 8. 01004 Serious 19100272 G02 05/21/2008 06/11/2008 $3,000 $3,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 9. 01005 Serious 19100272 G04 05/21/2008 06/11/2008 $3,000 $3,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 10. 01006 Serious 19100272 G06 05/21/2008 06/11/2008 $3,000 $3,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 11. 01007 Serious 19100272 G05 05/21/2008 06/11/2008 $3,000 $3,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  12. 01008A Serious 19100272 D 05/21/2008 06/11/2008 $3,000 $0 $0 Q - National Office Adjustment
  13. 01008B Serious 19100272 E01 05/21/2008 06/11/2008 $0 $0 $0 Q - National Office Adjustment
  14. 01008C Serious 19100272 E02 05/21/2008 06/11/2008 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  15. 01008D Serious 19100272 G05 05/21/2008 06/11/2008 $0 $0 $0 Q - National Office Adjustment
  16. 01009A Serious 19100272 G02 05/21/2008 06/11/2008 $3,000 $0 $0 Q - National Office Adjustment
  17. 01009B Serious 19100272 G04 05/21/2008 06/11/2008 $0 $0 $0 Q - National Office Adjustment
  18. 01009C Serious 19100272 G06 05/21/2008 06/11/2008 $0 $0 $0 Q - National Office Adjustment

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 200263358Event: 01/16/2008Employee Suffocates In Grain Bin Collapse
On January 16, 2008, Employee #1 entered a soybean grain bin to clear a clog. A coworker was assisting him from the outside and maintained communication by radio. The coworker left to check the belt conveyor, which ran underneath the grain bin. While he was gone, Employee #1 was engulfed in soy beans. After trying unsuccessfully to contact him, the coworker called the office to get emergency help. Employee #1 remained in the bin for several hours while emergency personnel attempted to rescue him. An additional collapse of soy beans completely engulfed his body, asphyxiating and killing him. At approximately 9:00 p.m., the body was removed and taken to the Coroner's office in Little Rock for autopsy.
Keywords: asphyxiated, collapse, suffocated, agriculture, caught between, soybeans, conveyor belt, grain bin, work surface
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 311363121 Fatality Asphyxia Occupation not reported

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close