Powered by GoogleTranslate

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 122189285 - Demeter Inc.

Inspection Information - Office: Peoria

Nr: 122189285Report ID: 0524500Open Date: 12/01/1994

Demeter Inc.
837 N. Market St.
Hoopeston, IL 60942
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC: 5153/Grain and Field Beans

Inspection Type:Accident
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:12/14/1994
Planning Guide: Safety-Manufacturing Close Case:10/02/1996

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident360358162    

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 5 5
Current Violations 3 3
Initial Penalty $27,000 $27,000
Current Penalty $17,500 $17,500
FTA Amount

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
Deleted 1. 01001 Serious 19100272 E01 01/25/1995 01/30/1995 $4,000 $4,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01002A Serious 19100272 G01 I 01/25/1995 01/30/1995 $7,000 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 01002B Serious 19100272 G01 II 01/25/1995 01/30/1995 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 4. 01003 Serious 19100272 G01 III 01/25/1995 02/07/1995 $2,000 $2,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  5. 01004 Serious 19100272 G02 01/25/1995 01/30/1995 $5,250 $7,000 $0 J - ALJ Decision
  6. 01005 Serious 19100272 G03 01/25/1995 01/30/1995 $5,250 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 856070Event: 11/30/1994Employee Dies Of Asphyxia When Engulfed In Grain
At approximately 9:15 a.m. on November 30, 1994, Employee #1 and two coworkers w ere attempting to unclog a grain removal system from inside the grain bin. Emplo yee #1 was using a shovel handle to open the center hole of the grain bin when t he corn started to flow. He was engulfed, asphyxiated, and died. The grain remov al system had not been locked out and the employees were not wearing harnesses w ith lifelines.
Keywords: asphyxiated, lifeline, ppe, grain, work rules, jammed, lockout, buried, falling object, grain bin
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 122189285 Fatality Asphyxia Laborers, except construction

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close