Department of Labor Logo OSHA Trade Release

July 28, 2023
Contact: Office of Communications
Phone: 202-693-1999

Department of Labor seeks nominations for membership to National Advisory Committee on Occupational Safety and Health

Six other members appointed

WASHINGTON – The U.S. Department of Labor is seeking nominations to fill two Department of Health and Human Services-designated vacancies on the National Advisory Committee on Occupational Safety and Health.

The 12-member committee advises the Secretary of Labor and Secretary of Health and Human Services on matters related to administering the Occupational Safety and Health Act. The committee meets two to four times a year.

OSHA invites nominations to fill one HHS-designated public representative and one HHS-designated occupational health professional representative. The Secretary of Labor will appoint members designated by the Secretary of HHS. The members will serve two-year terms beginning Nov. 16, 2023.

Submit nominations to the Federal eRulemaking Portal, Docket Number OSHA-2023-0003 by Aug. 30, 2023. Read the Federal Register notice for submission details.

Additionally, Acting Secretary of Labor Julie Su appointed six other members, in response to a previous request for nominations published on Jan. 3, 2023. The appointees’ two-year terms begin on Aug. 1, 2023. The newly appointed members are:

Labor Representative:

  • Jessica Garcia, Retail, Wholesale and Department Store Union

Management Representative:

  • Andrew Perkins, Alabama Power Company

Occupational Safety Representative:

  • Ray Ruiz, American Equity Underwriters

Occupational Health Representative:

  • Suzanne Teran, University of California, Berkeley (HHS designee)

Public Representatives:

  • Jay Withrow, Virginia Department of Labor and Industry
  • Michael Larranaga, REM Risk Consultants (HHS designee)

Learn more about OSHA and NACOSH.