• Publication Date:
  • Publication Type:
  • Fed Register #:
  • Standard Number:
  • Title:
    National Advisory Committee on Occupational Safety and Health (NACOSH); Notice of Membership Appointments
[Federal Register Volume 88, Number 11 (Wednesday, January 18, 2023)]
[Pages 2973-2974]
From the Federal Register Online via the Government Publishing Office [www.gpo.gov]
[FR Doc No: 2023-00812]



Occupational Safety and Health Administration

[Docket No. OSHA-2022-0002]

National Advisory Committee on Occupational Safety and Health 
(NACOSH); Notice of Membership Appointments

AGENCY: Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), Labor.

ACTION: Notice of NACOSH membership appointments.


SUMMARY: On January 16, 2023, the Secretary of Labor appointed four 
members to serve on the National Advisory Committee on Occupational 
Safety and Health (NACOSH).

    For press inquiries: Mr. Francis Meilinger, Director, OSHA Office 
of Communications, U.S. Department of Labor; telephone (202) 693-1999, 
(TTY (877) 889-5627); email meilinger.francis2@dol.gov.
    For general information: Ms. Lisa Long, Acting Deputy Director, 
Directorate of Standards and Guidance, OSHA, U.S. Department of Labor; 
telephone (202) 693-2049; email long.lisa@dol.gov.
    For copies of this Federal Register Notice: Electronic copies of 
this Federal Register notice are available at http://www.regulations.gov. This notice, as well as news releases and other 
relevant information, are also available at OSHA's web page at 


I. Background

    The Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 (OSH Act) (29 U.S.C. 
651, 656) established NACOSH to advise, consult with and make 
recommendations to the Secretary of Labor and the Secretary of Health 
and Human Services (HHS) on matters relating to the administration of 
the OSH Act. NACOSH is a continuing advisory committee of indefinite 
    NACOSH operates in accordance with the Federal Advisory Committee 
Act (FACA) (5 U.S.C. App. 2), its implementing regulations (41 CFR part 
102-3), and OSHA's regulations on advisory committees and NACOSH (29 
CFR parts 1912 and 1912a).
    NACOSH is comprised of 12 members: four public representatives, two 
management representatives, two labor representatives, two occupational 
safety professional representatives, and two occupational health 
professional representatives (29 CFR 1912a.2). The Secretary of Labor 
appoints all of these members. However, the Secretary of HHS designates 
four of the representatives: two of the four public representatives and 
the two occupational health professional representatives. NACOSH 
members serve staggered two-year terms, unless the member becomes 
unable to serve, resigns, ceases to be qualified to serve, or is 
removed by the Secretary.
    On August 1, 2022, OSHA published a request for nominations for 
four NACOSH positions that would expire on January 14, 2023 (87 FR 
47013). Specifically, OSHA requested nominations for:
     One (1) public representative;
     One (1) management representative;
     One (1) labor representative; and
     One (1) occupational safety professional representative.
    OSHA handled the nominations consistent with the process identified 
in the FRN. The Secretary of Labor proceeded with the appointment of 
individuals to four positions on January 16, 2023.

II. Appointment of Committee Members

    OSHA received nominations of highly qualified individuals in 
response to the agency's request for nominations (87 FR 47013, August 
1, 2022). The Secretary appointed NACOSH members on the basis of their 
experience and competence in the field of occupational safety and 
health (29 CFR 1912a.2). The NACOSH members that the Secretary 
appointed on January 16, 2023 are:

Public Representative

     Nancy Daraiseh, University of Cincinnati (Term expires 
January 16, 2025)

Management Representative

     John A. Dony, National Safety Council (Term expires 
January 16, 2025)

Labor Representative

     Rebecca Reindel, AFL-CIO (Term expires January 16, 2025)

Occupational Safety Representative

     Kathleen Dobson, Alberici Constructors, Inc. (Term expires 
January 16, 2026)

Authority and Signature

    James S. Frederick, Deputy Assistant Secretary of Labor for 
Occupational Safety and Health, directed the preparation of this notice 
under the authority granted by 29 U.S.C. 655 (b)(1) and 656(b), 5 
U.S.C. App. 2, and 29 CFR parts 1912 and 1912a.

    Signed at Washington, DC, on January 9, 2023.
James S. Frederick,
Deputy Assistant Secretary of Labor for Occupational Safety and Health.
[FR Doc. 2023-00812 Filed 1-17-23; 8:45 am]