• Publication Date:
  • Publication Type:
  • Fed Register #:
  • Standard Number:
  • Title:
    Advisory Committee on Construction Safety and Health (ACCSH)
[Federal Register Volume 86, Number 102 (Friday, May 28, 2021)]
[Page 28913]
From the Federal Register Online via the Government Publishing Office [www.gpo.gov]
[FR Doc No: 2021-11291]



Occupational Safety and Health Administration

[Docket No.: OSHA-2020-0003]

Advisory Committee on Construction Safety and Health (ACCSH)

AGENCY: Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), Labor.

ACTION: Notice of ACCSH membership.


SUMMARY: On May 11, 2021, the Secretary selected 15 members to serve on 
the Advisory Committee on Construction Safety and Health (ACCSH).

    For press inquiries: Mr. Frank Meilinger, Director, OSHA Office of 
Communications; telephone: (202) 693-1999; email: 
    For general information about ACCSH and ACCSH membership: Mr. Damon 
Bonneau, OSHA, Directorate of Construction; telephone: (202) 693-2020; 
email: bonneau.damon@dol.gov.
    Copies of this Federal Register document: Electronic copies of this 
Federal Register document are available at http://www.regulations.gov. 
This document, as well as news releases and other relevant information, 
are also available on the OSHA web page at http://www.osha.gov.


I. Background

    ACCSH advises the Secretary of Labor and the Assistant Secretary of 
Labor for Occupational Safety and Health (Assistant Secretary) in the 
formulation of standards affecting the construction industry, and on 
policy matters arising in the administration of the safety and health 
provisions under the Contract Work Hours and Safety Standards Act 
(Construction Safety Act (CSA)) (40 U.S.C. 3701 et seq.) and the 
Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 (OSH Act) (29 U.S.C. 651 et 
seq.) (see also 29 CFR 1911.10 and 1912.3). In addition, the CSA and 
OSHA regulations require the Assistant Secretary to consult with ACCSH 
before the agency proposes any occupational safety and health standard 
affecting construction activities (40 U.S.C. 3704); 29 CFR 1911.10.
    ACCSH operates in accordance with the Federal Advisory Committee 
Act (FACA), as amended (5 U.S.C. App. 2), and its implementing 
regulations (41 CFR 102-3 et seq.); and Department of Labor Manual 
Series Chapter 1-900 (8/31/2020). ACCSH generally meets two to four 
times a year.

II. Appointment of Committee Members

    ACCSH consists of 15 members appointed by the Secretary. ACCSH 
members generally serve two-year terms, unless they resign, cease to be 
qualified, become unable to serve, or the Secretary removes them (29 
CFR 1912.3(e)). The Secretary may appoint ACCSH members to successive 
terms. The allocation of members for each category of ACCSH membership 
     Five members who are qualified by experience and 
affiliation to present the viewpoint of employees in the construction 
     Five members who are similarly qualified to present the 
viewpoint of employers in the construction industry;
     Two public members, qualified by knowledge and experience 
to make a useful contribution to the work of ACCSH, such as those who 
have professional or technical experience and competence with 
occupational safety and health in the construction industry;
     Two representatives of State safety and health agencies; 
     One representative designated by the Secretary of the 
Department of Health and Human Services.
    OSHA received nominations of highly qualified individuals in 
response to the agency's request for nominations (85 FR 79221, December 
9, 2020). The Secretary appointed individuals to serve on the Committee 
who have broad experience relevant to the issues to be examined by the 
Committee. The ACCSH membership is as follows:

Employee Representatives

     Cheryl M. Ambrose, United Association of Journeymen and 
Apprentices of the Plumbing and Pipe Fitting Industry of the U.S. and 
     Christina Trahan Cain, North America's Building Trades 
Unions (ACCSH Chair);
     Wayne J. Creasap II, International Association of Bridge, 
Structural, Ornamental and Reinforcing Iron Workers;
     Ryan Papariello, Laborers Health and Safety Fund of North 
America; and
     David Wysocki, International Masonry Training and 
Education Foundation.

Employer Representatives

     Kevin Cannon, The Associated General Contractors of 
     Julie Carter, Roy Anderson Corp;
     Fravel E. Combs, M.A. Mortenson, Company;
     Greg Sizemore, Associated Builders and Contractors; and
     Wesley L. Wheeler, National Electrical Contractors 

Public Representatives

     Christopher Fought, Merck; and
     R. Ronald Sokol, Safety Council of Texas City.

State Representatives

     Christopher Scott Mabry, North Carolina Department of 
Labor Occupational Safety and Health Division; and
     Charles Stribling, Kentucky Labor Cabinet Department of 
Workplace Standards.

Federal Representative

     Dr. G. Scott Earnest, National Institute for Occupational 
Safety and Health.

Authority and Signature

    James S. Frederick, Acting Assistant Secretary of Labor for 
Occupational Safety and Health, authorized the preparation of this 
notice pursuant to 29 U.S.C. 655, 40 U.S.C. 3704, Secretary's Order 8-
2020 (85 FR 58393), 5 U.S.C. App. 2, and 29 CFR part 1912.

    Signed at Washington, DC, on May 21, 2021.
James S. Frederick,
Acting Assistant Secretary of Labor for Occupational Safety and Health.
[FR Doc. 2021-11291 Filed 5-27-21; 8:45 am]