• Publication Date:
  • Publication Type:
  • Fed Register #:
  • Title:
    National Advisory Committee on Occupational Safety and Health;Notice of Meeting


Occupational Safety and Health Administration

National Advisory Committee on Occupational Safety and Health; Notice of Meeting

Notice is hereby given of the date and location of the next meeting of the National Advisory Committee on Occupational Safety and Health (NACOSH), established under section 7(a) of the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 (29 U.S.C. 656) to advise the Secretary of Labor and the Secretary of Health Services on matters relating to the administration of the Act. NACOSH will hold a meeting on November 9 and 10, 1998, in Room N5437 A-D of the DEPARTMENT OF LABOR Building located at 200 Constitution Avenue NW, Washington, DC. The meeting is open to the public and will begin at 9:00 a.m. lasting until approximately 4:30 p.m. the first day, November 9. On November 10, the meeting will begin at 1:00 p.m. and last until approximately 4:00 p.m.

Agenda items will include: A brief overview of current activities of the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) and the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH), a discussion of international harmonization issues, updates on the National Occupational Research Agenda (NORA), training of CSHOs in the evaluation of safety and health programs, and implementation of the (11(c) task force report. Other subjects to be discussed include: a literature survey of incentive programs as well as the introduction of new staff and new committee members with a discussion of committee goals, operation and reports from workgroups.

Five new members have been appointed to NACOSH since the last meeting, and seven members have been reappointed, all for two-year terms. Four of the members are designated by the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), and the other eight are designated by the DEPARTMENT OF LABOR (DOL). The HHS designees include: Public Representative and Chair Dr. Kathleen Rest, Assistant Professor, Occupational Health Programs, University of Massachusetts Medical Center (reappointment); Public Representative Dr. Daniel Hryhorczuk, Director, Great Lakes Center for Occupational and Environmental Safety and Health, University of Illinois at Chicago (new member); Health Representative Dr. Bonnie Rogers, Director of Public Health Nursing, and Associate Professor of Epidemiology at the University of North Carolina (new member); and Health Representative LaMont Byrd, Director of Safety and Health for the International Brotherhood of Teamsters (new member).

The eight members designated by DOL include: Public Representative Byron K. Orton, Iowa Commissioner of Labor (reappointment); Public Representative Nancy Lessin, Senior Staff for Strategy and Policy at Massachusetts COSH (reappointment); Management Representative Dr. Henry B. Lick, Corporate Manager of Industrial Hygiene, Ford Motor Company (reappointment); Management Representative Dennis Scullion, Manager of Audit for OxyChem's Corporate Safety Department (new member); Labor Representative Margaret (Peg) Seminario, Director of Occupational Safety and Health, AFL-CIO (reappointment); Labor Representative Michael J. Wright, Director of Health, Safety and Environment for United Steelworkers of America (reappointment); Safety Representative Margaret Carroll, Manager of Safety Engineering for Sandia National Labs (reappointment); and Safety Representative David J. Heller, Executive Director of Risk Management for U.S. West (new member).

Written data, views or comments for consideration by the Committee may be submitted, preferably with 20 copies, to Joanne Goodell at the address provided below. Any such submissions received prior to the meeting will be provided to the members of the Committee and will be included in the record of the meeting. Because of the need to cover a wide variety of subjects in a short period of time, there is usually insufficient time on the agenda for members of the public to address the Committee orally. However, any such requests will be considered by the Chair who will determine whether or not time permits. Any request to make an oral presentation should state the amount of time desired, the capacity in which the person would appear, and a brief outline of the content of the presentation. Individuals with disabilities who need special accommodations should contact Theresa Berry (phone 202-219- 8615, extension 106; FAX: 202-219-5986) one week before the meeting.

An official record of the meeting will be available for public inspection in the OSHA Technical Data Center (TDC) located in Room N2625 of the DEPARTMENT OF LABOR Building (202-219-7500). For additional information contact: Joanne Goodell, Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA); Room N-3641, 200 Constitution Avenue NW, Washington, DC, (phone: 202-219-8021, extension 107; FAX: 202-219-4383; e-mail joanne.goodell@osha.gov).

Signed at Washington, D.C., this 30th day of September, 1998.

Charles N. Jeffress,
Assistant Secretary of Labor for Occupational Safety and Health.

[FR Doc. 98-27204 Filed 10-8-98; 8:45 am]