• Publication Date:
  • Publication Type:
  • Fed Register #:
  • Title:
    National Advisory Committee on Occupational Safety and Health; Full Committee Meeting

Occupational Safety and Health Administration

National Advisory Committee on Occupational Safety and Health; Full Committee Meeting

Notice is hereby given that the National Advisory Committee on Occupational Safety and Health (NACOSH), established under section 7(a) of the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 (29 U.S.C. 656) to advise the Secretary of Labor and the Secretary of Health and Human Services on matters relating to the administration of the Act, will meet on September 12 and 13, 1996, in Room C5520, Seminar Room 6, of the Department of Labor Building located at 200 Constitution Avenue NW, Washington, DC. The meeting is open to the public and will begin at 9:00 a.m. each day lasting until approximately 4:00 p.m. the first day and 3:00 p.m. the second day.

Agenda items will include: a brief overview of current activities in the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) and the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH); presentation of the HazCom Workgroup's final draft report to the full committee for action; a discussion of NIOSH plans for the implementation of the National Occupational Research Agenda (NORA); a discussion of OSHA compliance and related intervention initiatives; a brief report on activities related to ergonomics and the formation of a NACOSH Ergonomics Workgroup; and a continuation of the committee's planning session to determine issues and topics for future committee action.

Two new members have been appointed to serve two-year terms. They are: Rebecca F. Moreland, President of Chesapeake Occupational Health Services, Inc., who will be a Management Representative; and Margaret Mock Carroll, Manager of Safety Engineering for Sandra National Laboratories who will be a Safety Representative.

Three members whose terms expired in June have been reappointed. They are: Nancy Lessin, Senior Staff for Policy at the Massachusetts Coalition for Occupational Safety and Health (Public Representative); Peg Seminario, Director of Occupational Safety and Health for the AFL-CIO (Labor Representative); and Andrea K. Taylor, Occupational Health Consultant to United Auto Workers (Health Representative).

In addition, one year has been added to the terms of the following members: Kenneth J. Zeller, Indiana Commissioner of Labor (Public Representative); Kathleen M. Rest, Associate Professor, Occupational Health Program, University of Massachusetts Medical Center (Public Representative and Committee Chair); Henry B. Lick, Manager of Industrial Hygiene for Ford Motor Company (Management Representative); Michael J. Wright, Director of Health, Safety and the Environment for United Steelworkers (Labor Representative); Kenneth D. Brock, Senior Vice President and General Manager of Liberty Mutual Insurance (Safety Representative); and James A. Merchant, Professor of Preventive and Internal Medicine, University of Iowa (Health Representative).

One additional Public Representative has been selected by the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) and is currently being processed by the Health and Human Services Department.

Written data, views or comments for consideration by the committee may be submitted, preferably with 20 copies, to Joanne Goodell at the address provided below. Any such submissions received prior to the meeting will be provided to the members of the Committee and will be included in the record of the meeting. Anyone wishing to make an oral presentation should notify Ms. Goodell before the meeting. The request should state the amount of time desired, the capacity in which the person will appear and a brief outline of the content of the presentation. Persons who request the opportunity to address the Advisory Committee may be allowed to speak to the extent time permits, at the discretion of the Chair of the Advisory Committee. Individuals with disabilities who need special accommodations should contact Tom Hall one week before the meeting at the address indicated below.

An official record of the meeting will be available for public inspection in the OSHA Technical Data Center (TDC) located in Room N2625 of the Department of Labor Building (202-219-7500).

For Additional Information Contact: Joanne Goodell, Directorate of Policy, Occupational Safety and Health Administration, Room N-3641, 200 Constitution Avenue, NW, Washington, DC, 20210, telephone (202) 219-8021, ext. 107.

Signed at Washington, D.C. this 12th day of August, 1996.

Joseph A. Dear,
Assistant Secretary of Labor.

[FR Doc. 96-21185 Filed 8-19-96; 8:45 am]