• Publication Date:
  • Publication Type:
  • Fed Register #:
  • Title:
    National Advisory Committee on Occupational Safety and Health;Full Committee Meeting


Occupational Safety and Health Administration

National Advisory Committee on Occupational Safety and Health; Full Committee Meeting

Notice is hereby given that the National Advisory Committee on Occupational Safety and Health (NACOSH), established under section 7(a) of the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 (29 U.S.C. 656) to advise the Secretary of Labor and the Secretary of Health and Human Services on matters relating to the administration of the Act, will meet on September 21 and 22, 1995, in C5320 Seminar Room 6 of the Department of Labor Building located at 200 Constitution Avenue NW, Washington, DC. The meeting is open to the public and will begin at 9 a.m. each day lasting until approximately 4:30 p.m. on September 21 and 1 p.m. on September 22.

Agenda items will include overviews of activities of both the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) and the National Institute for Safety and Health (NIOSH), a legislative update together with a review of OSHA's Hazard Communication Standard, an update on the development of a proposed safety and health program standards, an update on OSHA data initiatives, a presentation by NIOSH of their process for setting a National Research Agenda, an update by NIOSH on their Respirator Standard as well as brief organizational meetings of two workgroups: One on hazard communication, and one on safety and health programs.

Since the last NACOSH meeting on April 10 and 11, six members terms have expired. Three of these members have been reappointed for a two year term ending in September 1997. They are: James A. Merchant, Health Representative; Henry B. Lick, Management Representative; and Michael J. Wright, Labor Representative. Two new members have been appointed for a two year term. They are: Kenneth J. Zeller, Commissioner of the Indiana Department of Labor, who will serve as a Public Representative; and Kennith D. Brock, Senior Vice President and General Manager of Liberty Mutual Insurance Company, who will serve as a Safety Representative. A third new member will be added in the near future to serve as a Public Representative. Members completing the second year of a two year term are: Ellen Schall and Ruy N. Delgado Zayas, Public Representatives; Frederick M. Toca, Management Representative; Margaret M. Seminario, Labor Representative; Frederic D. Rine, Safety Representative; and Andrea K. Taylor, Health Representative.

Written data, views or comments for consideration by the committee may be submitted, preferably with 20 copies, to Joanne Goodell at the address provided below. Any such submissions received prior to the meeting will be provided to the members of the Committee and will be included in the record of the meeting. Anyone wishing to make an oral presentation should notify Joanne Goodell before the meeting. The request should state the amount of time desired, the capacity in which the person will appear and a brief outline of the content of the presentation. Persons who request the opportunity to address the Advisory Committee may be allowed to speak to the extent time permits, at the discretion of the Chair of the Advisory Committee. Individuals with disabilities who need special accommodations should contact Tom Hall by September 18 at the address indicated below.

An official record of the meeting will be available for public inspection through Tom Hall, Division of Consumer Affairs, Room N-3647, 200 Constitution Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20210, telephone (202) 219-8615.

For additional information contact: Joanne Goodell, Directorate of Policy, Occupational Safety and Health Administration, Room N-3641, 200 Constitution Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20210, telephone (202) 219-8021

Signed at Washington, DC, this 29th day of August, 1995.

Joseph A. Dear,
Assistant Secretary of Labor.

[FR Doc. 95-21774 Filed 8-31-95; 8:45 am]