• Publication Date:
  • Publication Type:
  • Fed Register #:
  • Title:
    Maritime Advisory Committee for Occupational Safety and Health: Appointment of Members


Occupational Safety and Health Administration

Maritime Advisory Committee for Occupational Safety and Health: Appointment of Members

AGENCY: Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), U.S. Department of Labor.

ACTION: Notice of appointment of members to the Maritime Advisory Committee for Occupational Safety and Health (MACOSH).

SUMMARY: The Secretary of Labor has established an advisory committee to advise the Assistant Secretary for the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) on issues relating to the delivery of occupational safety and health programs, policies, and standards in the maritime industries of the United States. The committee will provide a collective expertise not otherwise available to the Secretary to address the complex and sensitive issues involved. Committee members have been appointed from government agencies, the shipbuilding industries and longshoring, labor and professional associations.

ADDRESSES: Any written comments in response to this notice should be sent to the following address: OSHA, Office of Maritime Standards, Room N-3621, 200 Constitution Avenue NW., Washington, DC 20210. Phone (202) 219-7234, fax (202) 219-7477.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Mr. Larry Liberatore, Office of Maritime Standards, OSHA, (202) 219-7234.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: MACOSH is intended to address the concerns of the entire maritime community, focusing on the shipyard and marine cargo (longshoring) handling industries.

This committee will continue the efforts of the previously chartered Shipyard Employment Standards Advisory Committee as well as provide a more focused forum for ongoing discussions with the marine cargo handling community. MACOSH is consistent with the President's initiative to make the U.S. shipyard industry competitive in the worldwide community. Furthermore, MACOSH will be able to focus on the resolution of controversial issues, particularly those with international implications, that impact the longshoring and shipyard communities. The specific objectives of this committee are to make recommendations on issues related to: (1) Reducing injuries and illnesses in the maritime industries, (2) expanding OSHA's outreach and training programs through the use of innovative partnerships, and (3) expediting the development and promulgation of OSHA standards.

Committee Members

MACOSH is composed of approximately 15 members who have been selected to represent the divergent interests of the maritime community. The makeup of the membership complies with Section 7 (b) of the OSH Act which requires the following: at least one member who is a designee of the Secretary of Health and Human Services; at least one designee of a state safety and health agency; and equal numbers of representatives of employees and employers, respectively. Other members have been selected based on their knowledge and experience and include representatives from professional and other governmental organizations with specific maritime responsibilities. MACOSH is a comprehensive representation of the maritime community.

Appointees to the Committee include these representatives from labor, industry, public interests and government agencies. The appointees represent groups interested in or affected by the outcome of rulemaking. The 15 members are:

Labor Representatives

Charles Brasford--Director of Occupational Safety and Health,

International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers. Al Cernados--Executive Vice President, International Longshoremen's Association.

Chico McGill--Chairman, Safety and Health Committee, Local 733,

International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, Ingalls Shipyard Richard Olsen--Coastal Committee, International Longshoremen's and Warehousemen's Union

Industry Representatives

Katherine Chumley--Chair, Environmental Safety and Health Committee,

Shipbuilders Council of America, Atlantic Marine. John Faulk--Safety and Health Director, Ryan Walsh Stevedoring. Chet Mathews--Safety and Health Director, Bath Iron Works Frank Scanlan--General Counsel and Secretary, National Maritime Safety Association.

Government and Professional Organizations

Lieutenant Julie Gahn--Hazardous Materials Division, U.S. Coast Guard. Alexander Landsburg--Systems Safety and Human Factors Division, Maritime Administration.

Fran Lavelle--American Association of Port Administrators. Elsie Munsel--Safety and Environmental Programs, U.S. Navy. Larry Reed--Assistant Director for Policy, National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health.

Pete Schmidt--Specialty Compliance Programs, State of Washington. James Thornton--American Industrial Hygiene Association.

Signed at Washington, DC this 3rd day of March 1995.

Joseph A. Dear,
Assistant Secretary of Labor.

[FR Doc. 95-5894 Filed 3-8-95; 8:45 am]