National Advisory Committee on Occupational Safety & Health


NACOSH was established under the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 to advise the secretaries of labor and health and human services on occupational safety and health programs and policies. Members of the 12-person advisory committee are chosen on the basis of their knowledge and experience in occupational safety and health.

The 12-member NACOSH has two members representing management, two members representing labor, two members representing the occupational health professions, two members representing the occupational safety professions and four members representing the public. Two of the health representatives and two of the public members are designated by the Secretary of Health and Human Services, although actual appointment of these members, as well as all other members, is by the Secretary of Labor. The members serve two-year terms.

February 12, 2014

NACOSH Statement on OSHA’s New Chemical Hazard Information Tools

NACOSH commends and applauds OSHA and the OSHA staff for the development of the new chemical hazard information tools – the annotated table of chemical exposure limits and the toolkit on transitioning to safer chemicals – that are available on the agency’s website.

These new tools bring together in one place a wide range of information on chemical hazards that will be of great use to employers, workers, safety and health professionals and others in their efforts to reduce workplace chemical exposures. This information is particularly important since many exiting OSHA permissible exposure limits (PELs) are outdated and do not adequately protect workers from adverse health effects.

NACOSH encourages OSHA to disseminate these new tools as widely as possible to employers, workers, trade associations, unions, safety and health organizations and others so they may be widely utilized. The committee stands ready to assist OSHA in this effort.


News Releases:

Federal Register Notices:


Meeting Agendas, Speeches and Minutes:

Complete Transcripts from the Docket:

  • Dockets EasySearch HELP: For copies of the complete transcripts and other NACOSH related dockets, from the above search page link, check the Docket Groups box, and then select "National Advisory Committee on Safety and Health" category from the dropdown list.


Lisa M. Brosseau, ScD
University of Illinois at Chicago
School of Public Health
Division of Environmental and
Occupational Health Sciences
MC 922, 2121 West Taylor Street
Chicago, IL  60612
Phone:  312-413-5185
Term Expires:  12/31/2017

Mark Carleson
P.O. Box 2661
San Marcos, CA 92079
Phone:  760-207-8623
Term Expires:  12/31/2017

Linda Rae Murray, MD, MPH 
Chief Medical Officer
Cook County Department of Health
5344 South Hyde Park Blvd.
Chicago, IL   60615
Phone:  708-836-8656
Term Expires:  12/31/2016

Anne Soiza*
Assistant Director
Washington Division of Occupational
Safety and Health
P.O. Box 44600
Olympia, WA  48504-4600
Phone:  360-902-5090
Term Expires:  12/31/2016


Joseph Van Houten, PhD
Senior Director
Worldwide Environment, Health
and Safety
Johnson & Johnson
410 George Street
New Brunswick, NJ 08901
Phone:  732-524-2548
Fax:  732-524-3296
Term Expires: 12/31/2016

Rick Ingram
Health and Safety Advisor
56 Scenic Loop Drive
Goliad, TX 77963
Phone: 361-645-2800
Term Expires:  12/31/2017



Robin Baker, MPH
Director, Research to Practice
School of Public Health
University of California, Berkeley
755 University Hall
Berkeley, CA 94720-5120
Phone: (510) 642-5507
Term Expires:  12/31/2017

William B. Bunn, III, MD, JD, MPH
137 Coggins Point Road
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
Phone: 312-560-7838
Term Expires:  12/31/2016


Lamont Byrd
Director of Safety and Health
International Brotherhood of Teamsters
25 Louisiana Avenue, NW
Washington, DC  20001
Phone:  202-624-6960
Term Expires:  12/31/2017

Margaret Seminario, M.S.
Director, Safety and Health
815 16th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20006
Phone: 202-637-5366
Term Expires: 12/31/2016



Jessica E. Martinez
Deputy Director
National COSH Network
3737 Camino del Rio South
Suite 305
San Diego, CA  92108
Phone:  213-278-6035
Term Expires:  12/31/2017

James Johnson
Group Vice President
Workplace Safety Initiatives
National Safety Council
1121 Spring Lake Drive
Itasca, IL 60143
Phone: 630-775-2221
Fax: 760-340-0574
Term Expires:  12/31/2016



Department of Labor

Amanda Edens
Designated Federal Official
200 Constitution Avenue, NW
Room N3653
Washington, DC  20210
Phone:  202-693-2270

Gretta Jameson
NACOSH Contact
200 Constitution Avenue, NW
Room N3647
Washington, DC  20210
Phone:  202-693-2176

Sarah J.  Shortall
Committee Counsel
200 Constitution Avenue, NW
Room S4004
Washington, DC  20210
Phone:  202-693-5445
Fax:  202-693-5466

Michelle Walker
Alternate Designated Federal Official
200 Constitution Avenue, NW
Room N2625
Washington, DC  20210
Phone:  202-693-2235

Communications Office (Travel)
200 Constitution Avenue, NW
Room N3647
Washington, DC  20210
Phone:  202-693-1912
Fax:  202-693-1634  


Department of Health and Human Services

Captain Roger Rosa
NIOSH Deputy Associate Director for  Science
Office of the Director
395 E St SW
Washington, DC  20201
Phone:  202-245-0655


*Committee Chair

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.