STATE OF NORTH DAKOTA

WORKER'S MEMORIAL DAY APRIL 28, 2024

PROCLAMATIO

WHEREAS, workers in every industry across the United States of America and throughout North Dakota serve as the backbone of our economy through their hard work, creativity and resiliency, and all workers have a right to safety in the workplace; and

WHEREAS, tragically, an average of 15 workers are killed while at work each day, translating to thousands each year, and millions more are hurt or fall ill every year in the workplaces across our nation — incidents that are often preventable; and

WHEREAS, according to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, in 2021, 34 workplace fatalities occurred in the state of North Dakota, causing an undeserved amount of pain and heartbreak to the close family members, friends, coworkers and countless other North Dakotans; and

WHEREAS, on April 28, 1971, the Occupational Health and Safety Act took effect, creating the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) as well as the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, an independent research institute in the then-Department of Health, Education and Welfare and now under the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; and

WHEREAS, OSHA works to ensure safe and healthful working conditions for workers by setting and enforcing standards and requirements for workplace safety and health, as well as providing training, education, outreach and assistance to employers and employees; and

WHEREAS, April 28 is observed annually as Worker's Memorial Day as a day to remember people who passed away on the job or were injured while working; and

WHEREAS, North Dakotans are renewing efforts to build better understanding and training to create safer workplaces and rededicating themselves to helping American workplaces maintain a safe environment for teammates.

NOW, THEREFORE, as Governor of the State of North Dakota, I do hereby proclaim April 28, 2024, WORKER'S MEMORIAL DAY in the State of North Dakota.



Dova Burgum

GOVERNOR

ATTEST:

Michael Howe SECRETARY OF STATE