
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry 
Occupational Safety and Health Division 
443 Lafayette Road 
St. Paul, MN 55155-4307 
Phone: 651-284-5050 FAX: 651-284-5741 

Citation and Notification of Penalty 

To: Inspection Number: 318094091 
Visu-Sewer Inc OSHI ID: Pl940 
W230 N4855 Betker Drive Optional Report No.: 03117 
Pewaukee, WI 53072 Inspection Date(s): 03/22/2017 - 07/19/2017 

Issuance Date: 07/24/2017 
Inspection Site: 
6311 Tahoe Place The violation('s) described in this Citation and 
Woodbury, MN 55125 Notification ofPenalty is (are) alleged to have 

occurred on or about the day(s) the inspection was 
made unless otherwise indicated within the description 
given below. 

This Citation and Notification ofPenalty (this Citation) describes violations of the Minnesota 
Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1973 (the Act). The penalty amounts listed herein are based on 
these violations. You must abate the violations referred to in this Citation by the dates listed and pay the 
penalties, unless within 20 calendar days from your receipt of this Citation you file a Notice of Contest 
with the Commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry. Your contestation rights and other 
employer and employee rights and responsibilities are set out in the first three pages of this Citation. The 
description of alleged violations begins on page 5 of this Citation. 

EMPLOYER AND EMPLOYEE RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES 

Posting - The Act requires that a copy of this Citation shall be promptly posted at or near each place 
that an alleged violation referred to in the citation occurred or, if not practicable, in a prominent place 
where it will be readily visible by all affected employees. If uncontested, this Citation must remain 
posted until all alleged violations cited therein are corrected, or for 20 days, whichever is longer. If 
contested, this Citation must remain posted until the contestation is resolved. 

Penalty Payment - Payment of all penalties is to be made by check or money order payable to 
"Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, MNOSHA", and remitted to the Occupational Safety and 
Health Division at P.O. Box 64025, St. Paul, MN, 55164-0025, within 20 calendar days following 
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receipt of this Citation. After 60 days, unpaid penalties shall increase 25 percent and shall accrue an 
additional interest of 10 percent per month compounded monthly until the fine is paid in full. 

Effective August 1, 2003, the minimum $25,000 penalty issued to employers with fewer than 50 
employees for serious citations connected to the death of an employee may be made in five payments of 
$5,000. The first $5,000 payment is due within 20 calendar days following receipt of this Citation. The 
2nd-5th payments of $5,000 are due on the next four anniversary dates of this Citation becoming a Final 
Order. The Commissioner may elect to waive the 2nd-5th $5,000 payment if in the preceding year the 
employer receives no citations. MNOSHA will provide written notice of the 2nd-5th payments dates or of 
any penalty waiver. 

Notification of Corrective Action - Progress reports on correction of alleged violations not 
immediately abated as observed by the occupational safety and health investigator shall be submitted on 
the Progress Report form provided with this Citation. Written progress reports must be mailed to the 
address shown on the top of page I of this Citation by the latest abatement date on the citation, or within 
30 days after receipt of the citation, whichever is earlier. Reports must state the specific corrective action 
taken on each cited item, the date of such action and the anticipated abatement date of uncompleted 
items. Additional written progress reports shall be submitted every thirty days until the items are fully 
abated. Facsimile (FAX) transmittal is acceptable. 

All alleged violations not contested must be corrected by the abatement date specified in this Citation. A 
followup inspection may be made for the purpose of ascertaining that the employer has corrected the 
alleged violations and posted this Citation as required by the Act. Failure to correct an alleged violation 
by the abatement date on this Citation may result in further penalties for each day the alleged violation 
has not been corrected. 

Petition for Modification of Abatement Date (PMA) - If, due to factors beyond reasonable 
control, compliance cannot be achieved by the abatement day on the citation, the employer may file a 
Petition for Modification of AbatementDate (PMA) to obtain an extension of the abatement time period. 
The PMA must be in writing and received at the address shown on the top of page 1 of this Citation prior 
to the expiration of the abatement date on the citation. Facsimile (FAX) transmittal of a PMA is 
acceptable. A copy of the PMA must be posted for ten days in the location where this Citation is posted. 
A copy of the PMA must also be served upon authoriz~d employee representatives. 

The employer's written petition must describe: 

1) The action that has been taken so far to achieve compliance; 
2) The amount of additional time needed for compliance; 
3) The reasons why additional time is needed; 
4) A description ofthe interim steps that will be taken to safeguard employees against the cited 
hazard; 
5) A statement that employees have been notified of the PMA filing. 

Employees have the right to file a written objection to the Commissioner regarding the employer's PMA 
request. A copy of the objection must be served on the employer within 10 days of the employer's 
posting of the PMA. The employee objection must be received by the Commissioner within 15 days of 
the employer's PMA request. Facsimile (FAX) transmittal is acceptable. 
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Employer Right to Contest - The employer has the right to a hearing to contest any or all parts of 
this Citation. If the employer wishes to contest, the employer must fully complete and notarize the 
attached NOTICE OF CONTEST AND SERVICE TO AFFECTED EMPLOYEES (Notice of Contest 
form) and file it with the Commissioner at the address shown on the top of page 1 of this Citation within 
20 calendar days of receiving the citation. 

Important: To be considered filed, all parts of the Notice of Contest form must be completed and 
the completed form must be deposited in the United States mail and postmarked, or otherwise 
timely received by the Commissioner at the above address within 20 calendar days after the date 
this Citation is received by the employer. You may also file electronkally at 
(contestation.dli@state.mn.us), by facsimile (FAX), or by hand-delivering the completed form to 
the Department, if received no later than 4:30 p.m. on the 20th calendar day. If the employer fails 
to file the Notice of Contest form on time, this Citation and Notification of Penalty becomes a final 
order of the Commissioner which is not subject to review by any court or agency and the 
Occupational Safety and Health Division may file and enforce the penalty as a district court 
judgment without further notice or additional proceedings pursuant to Minnesota Statute § 
16D.17. 

Employee Right to Contest - An employee or authorized representative of employees has the right 
to a hearing to contest this Citation by filing a letter with the Commissioner of the Department of Labor 
and Industry at the address shown on page 1 within 20 calendar days of the employer's receipt of this 
Citation. 

Important: To be considered filed, an employee letter of contest must be deposited in the United 
States mail and postmarked, or otherwise timely received by the Commissioner at the above 
address within 20 calendar days after the date this Citation is received by the employer. You may 
also file electronically at (contestation.dli@state.mn.us), by facsimile (FAX), or by hand-delivering 
the completed form to the Department, if received no later than 4:30 p.m. on the 20th calendar day. 
If the employee fails to file a letter of contest on time, this Citation and Notification of Penalty 
becomes a final order of the Commissioner which is not subject to review by any court or agency 
and the Occupational Safety and Health Division may file and enforce the penalty as a district 
court judgment without further notice or additional proceedings pursuant to Minnesota Statute § 
16D.17. 

Employee Right to Party Status - Affected employees or their authorized employee 
representatives may elect to participate as parties in the formal contested case hearing by filing written 
notice with the Commissioner at the address shown above at least 45 days before the start of the hearing. 
The notice must contain the employees' names, addresses, authorized employee representatives, if any, 
and a statement that they are affected employees of the cited employer. 

Employer Discrimination Unlawful - Employees who believe that they have been discharged or 
otherwise discriminated against by any person because the employees have exercised any right authorized 
under the provisions of Minnesota Statutes§§ 182.65 to 182.674, may, within 30 days after such alleged 
discrimination occurs, file a complaint with the Commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry 
at the address shown above, alleging the discriminatory act. 
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PENALTY INFORMATION 

Types of Violations - There are 5 types of violations that may be cited by MNOSHA. They are: 
Nonserious, Serious, Willful, Repeat and Failure to Abate. 

Penalties - In cases not involving the death of an employee, the law allows the following maximum 
penalties: Nonserious, $7,000; Serious, $7,000; Willful, $70,000; Repeat, $70,000; and Failure to Abate, 
$7,000 per day the violation remains unabated. If a Willful or Repeat violation caused or contributed to 
the death of an employee, however, MNOSHA is compelled by law to assess the employer a total 
non-negotiable penalty of at least $50,000 for all citations connected to the employee's death. If there are 
no Willful or Repeat violations among the violations that caused or contributed to the employee's death, 
MNOSHA must assess the employer a non-negotiable penalty of at least $25,000 for each citation 
connected to the employee's death. The following violations are not subject to these minimums and will 
be processed according to MNOSHA's ordinary penalty system: (a) any serious violations issued to an 
employer with fewer than 50 employees when the victim of a workplace fatality owned a controlling 
interest in the business unless the Commissioner determines that a fine shall be assessed, and (b) any 
violations found during a fatality investigation but determined not to be connected to the death of an 
employee. 

Credits - A penalty for a violation may be credited by as much as 95 percent, depending on the employer's 
good faith (up to 30%), size of business (up to 55%), and previous violation history (up to 10%). The 
penalties which appear on the Citation and Notification of Penalty have been reduced by the credits 
described. 
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Minnesota Inspection Number: 318094091 

Department of Labor and Industry Inspection Date(s): 03/22/2017 - 07/19/2017 
Occupational Safety and Health Division Issuance Date: 07/24/2017 

OSIDID: P1940 
Optional Report No.: 03117 

Citation and Notification of Penalty 

Company Name: Visu-Sewer Inc 
Inspection Site: 6311 Tahoe Place, Woodbury, MN 55125 

Citation 01 Item 001 Type of Violation: Willful 

29 CFR 1926.2l(b)(2): The employer did not instruct each employee in the recognition and avoidance 
ofunsafe conditions and the regulations applicable to his work enviromnent to control or eliminate any 
hazards or other exposure to illness or injury: 

The employer failed to train and instruct employees in the recognition and avoidance of unsafe 
conditions, and failed to control those unsafe and hazardous conditions, while employees were routinely 
operating and utilizing the boiler truck and related CIPP inversion equipment. 

This citation requires both Certification of Abatement and Documentation of Abatement to 
be submitted by the abatement due date. 

Certification of Abatement: An employer's signed statement, submitted on a Progress Report 
form, that the violation has been abated. 

Documentation of Abatement: Documents submitted by the employer demonstrating that the 
abatement is complete, (i.e., pictures, receipts, etc.). 

Date By Which Violation Must Be Abated: 8/17/2017 
Penalty: $44,100.00 
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Minnesota Inspection Number: 318094091 

Department of Labor and Industry Inspection Date(s): 03/22/2017 - 07/19/2017 
Occupational Safety and Health Division Issuance Date: 07/24/2017 

OSIDID: P1940 
Optional Report No.: 03117 

Citation and Notification of Penalty 

Company Name: Visu-Sewer Inc 
Inspection Site: 6311 Tahoe Place, Woodbury, MN 5 5125 

Citation 01Item002 Type of Violation: Willful 

Minn. Rules 5207.0620: Machines with point-of- operation, pinch-point, or nip-point hazards were not 
equipped so that it was possible for the operator to cut off the power to the machine without leaving the 
position at the point-of- operation: 

On March 22, 2017, the hydraulic roller on the boiler truck's raised platform, was not equipped so that it 
was possible for the operator to cut off the power to the rotating equipment without leaving the position 
at the point-of-operation. 

This citation requires both Certification of Abatement and Documentation of Abatement to 
be submitted by the abatement due date. 

Certification of Abatement: An employer's signed statement, submitted on a Progress Report 
form, that the violation has been abated. 

Documentation of Abatement: Documents submitted by the employer demonstrating that the 
abatement is complete, (i.e., pictures, receipts, etc.). 

Date By Which Violation Must Be Abated: 8/17/2017 
Penalty: $70,000.00 
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Minnesota Inspection Number: 318094091 

Department of Labor and Industry Inspection Date(s): 03/22/2017 - 07/19/2017 
Occupational Safety and Health Division Issuance Date: 07/24/2017 

OSIDID: Pl940 
Optional Report No.: 03117 

Citation and Notification of Penalty 

Company Name: Visu-Sewer Inc 
Inspection Site: 6311 Tahoe Place, Woodbury, MN 55125 

Citation 01 Item 003 Type of Violation: Willful 

Minn. Rules 5207.0720: Tools and equipment were altered, modified, or used for other than their 
intended purpose without the manufacturer's approval, specifically: 

On March 22, 2017, the boiler truck and related CIPP equipment, was altered & modified, and used for 
purposes other than the manufacturer's intended purpose; specifically: 

a. The boiler truck's powered hydraulic roller, was used to retract lay flat hose from the sewer pipe, 
contrary to the manufacturer's intended purpose for the equipment; and 

b. The foot valve control for the hydraulic roller, was modified and replaced with a hand control lever, 
without the manufacturer's written permission, and against the manufacturer's direct advisement. 

This citation requires both Certification of Abatement and Documentation of Abatement to 
be submitted by the abatement due date. 

Certification of Abatement: An employer's signed statement, submitted on a Progress Report 
form, that the violation has been abated. 

Documentation of Abatement: Documents submitted by the employer demonstrating that the 
abatement is complete, (i.e., pictures, receipts, etc.). 

Date By Which Violation Must Be Abated: 8/17/2017 
Penalty: $70,000.00 

Ken B. Peterson, Commissioner 
MN Department of Labor and Industry 
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