Powered by GoogleTranslate
OSHA News Release - Table of Contents

OSHA Trade Release DOL Logo

U.S. Department of Labor
Occupational Safety and Health Administration
Office of Communications
Washington, D.C.
For Immediate Release

April 26, 2010
Contact: Office of Communications
Phone: 202-693-1999

Secretary of Labor announces new members to safety, health advisory committee
Improving worker protections is goal of new members

WASHINGTON -- The Secretary of Labor's emphasis on worker safety and health was enhanced by the recent addition of seven new members to the National Advisory Committee on Occupational Safety and Health (NACOSH). The new appointees, who will serve two-year terms, bring to the committee years of experience and expertise in medicine, academia, safety program development and systems analysis.

NACOSH has advised the Secretaries of Labor, and Health and Human Services for nearly 40 years on worker safety issues such as Latino outreach, hazard communication, the whistleblower program, and overall occupational safety and health programs and policies.

These members, representing the interests of labor, management, safety and health professionals and the public, will use their expertise to help resolve major issues threatening the safety and health of American workers.

Public representatives:
  • Michael Silverstein, M.D., M.P.H., assistant director, Washington Division of Occupational Safety and Health, will serve as committee chair.
  • Linda Rae Murray, M.D., M.P.H., chief medical officer, Cook County (Ill.) Department of Health
Management representative:
  • Joseph Van Houten, Ph.D., senior director, Worldwide EHS, Johnson & Johnson
Labor representatives:
  • Margaret Seminario, M.S., director, Safety and Health, AFL-CIO
  • William Borwegen, M.P.H., director, Occupational Health and Safety, Service Employees International Union CTW, CLC
Safety representative:
  • Peter Dooley, M.S., CSP, CIH, LaborSafe
Health representative:
  • Susan Randolph, M.S.N., RN, COHN-S, clinical assistant professor, Occupational Health Nursing Program, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, was reappointed for a second term.

The 12-member committee - eight of whom are selected by the Secretary of Labor, four by the Secretary of Health and Human Services - meets at least two times a year. For more information on the committee, visit OSHA's NACOSH page.

Under the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970, employers are responsible for providing safe and healthful workplaces for their employees. OSHA's role is to assure these conditions for America's working men and women by setting and enforcing standards, and providing training, education and assistance. For more information, visit http://www.osha.gov.


U.S. Labor Department news releases are accessible on the Internet at www.dol.gov. The information in this release will be made available in alternative format upon request (large print, Braille, audiotape or disc) from the Central Office for Assistive Services and Technology. Please specify which news release when placing your request. Call 202-693-7828 or TTY 202-693-7755.

OSHA News Release - Table of Contents

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.