Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Case Status: CLOSED
Inspection: 952191.015 - Sabatis Mitchell

Inspection Information - Office: Augusta

Nr: 952191.015Report ID: 0111100Open Date: 12/11/2013

Sabatis Mitchell
23 Miles West Of Jackman
Jackman, ME 04945
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC:
NAICS: 113310/Logging
Mailing: 1065 Ayers Junction Road , Charlotte, ME 04666

Inspection Type:Fat/Cat
Scope:Complete Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:12/12/2013
Close Case:11/14/2019

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident880717    
Case Status: CLOSED

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 2 2
Current Violations 1 1
Initial Penalty $8,400 $0 $0 $0 $0 $8,400
Current Penalty $4,200 $0 $0 $0 $0 $4,200
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
Deleted 1. 01001 Serious 19100266 D06 III 04/30/2014 05/12/2014 $0 $2,800 $0 06/19/2014 F - Formal Settlement
  2. 01002A Serious 19100266 D06 IV 04/30/2014 05/06/2014 $4,200 $2,800 $0 06/19/2014 F - Formal Settlement
  3. 01002B Serious 19100266 H01 I 04/30/2014 05/12/2014 $0 $2,800 $0 06/19/2014 F - Formal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 55710.015Event: 12/08/2013Employee Struck By Tree And Is Killed
At 11:30 p.m. on December 8, 2013, an employee was performing logging work. The employee cut a maple tree and left it standing, then proceeded to cut and de-limb another tree. While de-limbing, the previously cut tree fell and struck the employee on the head. The employee managed to walk 800 ft. out to a skidder trail where he collapsed and died from his injuries.
Keywords: tree, collapse, head, tree felling
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 952191.015

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close