Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 314808023 - Cb Richard Ellis Inc.

Inspection Information - Office: Cleveland

Nr: 314808023Report ID: 0522300Open Date: 08/06/2010

Cb Richard Ellis Inc.
17325 Euclid Ave.
Cleveland, OH 44112
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC: 8744/Facilities Support Management Services
NAICS: 561210/Facilities Support Services
Mailing: 5001 Rockside Road, Suite 600, Independence, OH 44131

Inspection Type:Accident
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:01/06/2011
Emphasis: S:Electrical, S:Fall From Height Gi & ConClose Case:04/13/2012

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident100105428    

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 8 8
Current Violations 5 5
Initial Penalty $56,000 $0 $0 $0 $0 $56,000
Current Penalty $35,000 $0 $0 $0 $0 $35,000
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
Deleted 1. 01001A Serious 19100132 D01 I 02/03/2011 02/21/2011 $7,000 $7,000 $0 02/23/2011 F - Formal Settlement
Deleted 2. 01001B Serious 19100132 F04 02/03/2011 02/21/2011 $0 $0 $0 02/23/2011 F - Formal Settlement
  3. 01002 Serious 19100147 C04 I 02/03/2011 02/26/2011 $7,000 $7,000 $0 02/23/2011 F - Formal Settlement
  4. 01003 Serious 19100147 C06 I 02/03/2011 02/21/2011 $7,000 $7,000 $0 02/23/2011 F - Formal Settlement
Deleted 5. 01004 Serious 19100147 C07 IA 02/03/2011 02/21/2011 $7,000 $7,000 $0 02/23/2011 F - Formal Settlement
Deleted 6. 01005 Serious 19100151 B 02/03/2011 02/21/2011 $7,000 $7,000 $0 02/23/2011 F - Formal Settlement
Deleted 7. 01006 Serious 19100332 B03 I 02/03/2011 02/21/2011 $7,000 $7,000 $0 02/23/2011 F - Formal Settlement
  8. 01007 Serious 19100333 A01 02/03/2011 02/21/2011 $7,000 $7,000 $0 02/23/2011 F - Formal Settlement
Deleted 9. 01008 Serious 19100335 A01 I 02/03/2011 02/21/2011 $7,000 $7,000 $0 02/23/2011 F - Formal Settlement
  10. 01009A Serious 19100132 D01 I 02/03/2011 02/21/2011 $7,000 $0 $0 02/23/2011 Q - National Office Adjustment
  11. 01009B Serious 19100132 F04 02/03/2011 02/21/2011 $0 $0 $0 02/23/2011 F - Formal Settlement
  12. 01009C Serious 19100335 A01 I 02/03/2011 02/21/2011 $0 $0 $0 02/23/2011 Q - National Office Adjustment
  13. 01010A Serious 19100147 C07 IA 02/03/2011 02/21/2011 $7,000 $0 $0 02/23/2011 Q - National Office Adjustment
Deleted 14. 01010B Serious 19100332 B03 I 02/03/2011 02/21/2011 $0 $7,000 $0 02/23/2011 F - Formal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 200103711Event: 08/06/2010Employee Is Electrocuted While Working On Air Conditioner
On August 6, 2010, Employee #1 was working on an HVAC (heating, ventilation, and air conditioning) air handling unit that had not been cooling adequately. The "lockout" procedure did not include deenergization at the power supply or application of locks. Therefore, although the unit was shut off, it was still energized. Employee #1 was observed falling from the stepladder. At least two people tried to find his pulse but could only detect "fluttering". It apparently took Cleveland EMS (emergency medical services) 15 minutes to arrive. Employee #1 was killed, and the coroner found "probable electrocution" to be the cause of death.
Keywords: repair, air conditioner, electrocuted, lockout, electric shock, fall
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 314808023 Fatality Electric Shock Machinery maintenance occupations

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close