US Dept of Labor

Occupational Safety & Health AdministrationWe Can Help

Inspection Detail

Note: The following inspection has not been indicated as closed. Please be aware that the information shown may change, e.g. violations may be added or deleted. For open cases, in which a citation has been issued, the citation information may not be available for 5 days following receipt by the employer for Federal inspections or for 30 days following receipt by the employer for State inspections.

Inspection: 313028805 - Apache Corporation, Gulf Coast Region

Inspection Information - Office: Baton Rouge

Nr: 313028805Report ID: 0625700Open Date: 01/13/2010

Apache Corporation, Gulf Coast Region
East Cameron #2, Gulf Of Mexico
Cameron, LA 70631
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC: 2911/Petroleum Refining
NAICS: 324110/Petroleum Refineries
Mailing: 2014 W Pinhook Dr, Ste 800, Lafayette, LA 70508

Inspection Type:Unprog Rel
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:Y
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:05/27/2010
Emphasis: N:RefineryClose Case:

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident100559459    

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 15 15
Current Violations 9 9
Initial Penalty $83,700 $83,700
Current Penalty $29,500 $29,500
FTA Amount

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 19100119 D02 IA 07/08/2010 07/27/2010 $0 $4,500 $0 07/30/2010 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 2. 01002 Serious 19100119 D02 ID 07/08/2010 07/27/2010 $0 $4,500 $0 07/30/2010 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 01003 Serious 19100119 D02 IE 07/08/2010 07/27/2010 $0 $4,500 $0 07/30/2010 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 01004 Serious 19100119 D03 ID 07/08/2010 07/27/2010 $0 $4,500 $0 07/30/2010 I - Informal Settlement
  5. 01005 Serious 19100119 D03 IF 07/08/2010 07/27/2010 $6,100 $4,500 $0 07/30/2010 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 6. 01006 Serious 19100119 D03 II 07/08/2010 07/27/2010 $0 $6,300 $0 07/30/2010 I - Informal Settlement
  7. 01007 Serious 19100119 E01 07/08/2010 07/27/2010 $6,300 $6,300 $0 07/30/2010 -
  8. 01008 Serious 19100119 F01 07/08/2010 07/27/2010 $6,300 $6,300 $0 07/30/2010 -
Deleted 9. 01009 Serious 19100119 G03 07/08/2010 07/27/2010 $0 $6,300 $0 07/30/2010 I - Informal Settlement
  10. 01010 Serious 19100119 J02 07/08/2010 07/27/2010 $4,500 $4,500 $0 07/30/2010 -
Deleted 11. 01011 Serious 19100119 L02 II 07/08/2010 07/27/2010 $0 $6,300 $0 07/30/2010 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 12. 01012 Serious 19100119 M03 07/08/2010 07/27/2010 $0 $6,300 $0 07/30/2010 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 13. 01013 Serious 19100119 M04 IV 07/08/2010 07/27/2010 $0 $6,300 $0 07/30/2010 I - Informal Settlement
  14. 01014 Serious 19100119 O01 07/08/2010 07/27/2010 $0 $6,300 $0 07/30/2010 I - Informal Settlement
  15. 01015 Serious 19100119 O04 07/08/2010 07/27/2010 $6,300 $6,300 $0 07/30/2010 -

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 200555969Event: 01/13/2010One Employee Dies And Two Survived After Cold Water Exposure
On January 13, 2010, Employees #1, #2, and #3 were working on an oil-rig production platform when a fire and explosion occurred. The fire and explosion resulted from a release of natural gas from the 3-inch diameter gas sales line that was located on the main (top) deck of the platform. The line had developed ice plugs in it, causing natural gas to collect near draft burners that were also on the main deck. This provided an ignition source, which led to the fire and ultimate explosion. All three men jumped off the platform into the cold water of the Gulf, where they waited for rescue. A rescue boat arrived approximately 1.5 to 2-hours later. Employees #1, #2, and #3 all experienced hypothermia due to the low water temperatures, combined with the length of time in the water. However, Employee #1 died, while Employees #2 and #3 survived. Both Employee #2 and #3 were hospitalized and treated for their injuries.
Keywords: explosion, fire, ignition system, natural gas, water, oil rig
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 313028805 Occupation not reported

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close