Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 311124564 - Lucas Tree Experts

Inspection Information - Office: Augusta

Nr: 311124564Report ID: 0111100Open Date: 05/23/2007

Lucas Tree Experts
Camp Waya-Awi Road, Approx.1 Mile From Rt. 16
Dallas Plantation, ME 04970
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC: 0783/Ornamental Shrub and Tree Services
NAICS: 561730/Landscaping Services
Mailing: P. O. Box 958, Portland, ME 04104

Inspection Type:Accident
Scope:Complete Advanced Notice:Y
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:06/19/2007
Emphasis: S:Struck-ByClose Case:02/08/2008

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident102237518    

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 4 4
Current Violations 1 1
Initial Penalty $20,000 $0 $0 $0 $0 $20,000
Current Penalty $15,000 $0 $0 $0 $0 $15,000
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 19100147 C01 10/15/2007 10/23/2007 $15,000 $5,000 $0 11/05/2007 F - Formal Settlement
Deleted 2. 01002 Serious 19100147 C04 I 10/15/2007 10/23/2007 $5,000 $5,000 $0 11/05/2007 F - Formal Settlement
Deleted 3. 01003 Serious 19100147 C04 IIB 10/15/2007 10/21/2007 $5,000 $5,000 $0 11/05/2007 F - Formal Settlement
Deleted 4. 01004 Serious 19100147 C07 I 10/15/2007 10/21/2007 $5,000 $5,000 $0 11/05/2007 F - Formal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 202220604Event: 05/23/2007Employee Is Struck And Killed By Chipper Cover
A trailer mounted wood chipper's discharge chute was clogged. Employee #1 was operating the chipper and shut the engine off, disengaging the clutch. Employee #1 climbed on the chipper with the chipper still running, removed the upper hood latch pin, and started to open the hood. The knife blade caught the corner of the hood throwing the hood into the impeller. The hood was blown off the chipper hitting Employee #1 in the chest killing him instantly.
Keywords: chest, chipper, clogged, struck by, concussion, flying object, blade
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 311124564 Fatality Concussion Occupation not reported

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close