Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 310483144 - Eramet Marietta, Inc.

Inspection Information - Office: Columbus

Nr: 310483144Report ID: 0522500Open Date: 01/04/2008

Eramet Marietta, Inc.
16705 State Route 7
Marietta, OH 45750
Union Status: Union
SIC: 3313/Electrometallurgical Products, Except Steel
NAICS: 331112/Electrometallurgical Ferroalloy Product Manufacturing
Mailing: P.O. Box 299, Marietta, OH 45750

Inspection Type:Accident
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:Y
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:02/05/2008
Emphasis: L:Piv, L:Primetal, N:Lead, N:Silica, S:Electrical, S:Fall From Height, S:Lead, S:Noise, S:Powered Ind Vehicle, S:Silica, S:Struck-ByClose Case:07/02/2009

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident100752955    

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 11 11
Current Violations 7 1 8
Initial Penalty $28,800 $0 $0 $0 $0 $28,800
Current Penalty $9,650 $0 $0 $0 $0 $9,650
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001A Serious 19100023 C01 03/05/2008 04/07/2008 $2,900 $6,300 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01001B Serious 19100023 E01 03/05/2008 04/07/2008 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 01002 Serious 19100023 D01 II 03/05/2008 04/07/2008 $1,125 $2,250 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 4. 01003 Serious 19100147 C06 I 03/05/2008 04/07/2008 $1,125 $2,250 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 5. 01004 Serious 19100147 F03 IID 03/05/2008 04/07/2008 $0 $2,250 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  6. 01005A Serious 19100179 E04 03/05/2008 04/07/2008 $1,125 $2,250 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 7. 01005B Serious 19100179 L02 I 03/05/2008 04/07/2008 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 8. 01006 Serious 19100304 A02 03/05/2008 04/07/2008 $1,125 $2,250 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 9. 01007 Serious 19100304 G05 03/05/2008 04/07/2008 $0 $2,250 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  10. 01008 Other 19100305 B01 03/05/2008 04/07/2008 $0 $2,250 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  11. 01009 Serious 19100305 B02 03/05/2008 04/07/2008 $1,125 $2,250 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 12. 01010 Serious 19100305 G02 II 03/05/2008 04/28/2008 $1,125 $2,250 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 13. 01011 Serious 19100305 G02 III 03/05/2008 04/07/2008 $0 $2,250 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  14. 01012A Serious 19100147 C06 I 03/05/2008 04/07/2008 $1,125 $0 $0 Q - National Office Adjustment
  15. 01012B Serious 19100147 F03 IID 03/05/2008 04/07/2008 $0 $0 $0 Q - National Office Adjustment
  16. 01013A Serious 19100304 A02 03/05/2008 04/07/2008 $1,125 $0 $0 Q - National Office Adjustment
  17. 01013B Serious 19100304 G05 03/05/2008 04/07/2008 $0 $0 $0 Q - National Office Adjustment
  18. 01014A Serious 19100305 G02 II 03/05/2008 04/28/2008 $1,125 $0 $0 Q - National Office Adjustment
  19. 01014B Serious 19100305 G02 III 03/05/2008 04/07/2008 $0 $0 $0 Q - National Office Adjustment

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 200758639Event: 01/04/2008Employee Is Killed In Fall From Crane Cab Platform
At approximately 9:15 a.m. on January 4, 2008, Employee #1, a journeyman instrument electrician, was performing a weekly electrical inspection on crane Number 2 in building C1F's furnace room. Employee #1 was working with a coworker. Employee #1 and the coworker moved the crane away from the boarding area to take advantage of a better lighting from above and heat from a process taking place on the floor below. At the time of the accident, the coworker was on the bridge crane's trolley, performing the brake portion of the inspection. Employee #1 was on the cab platform approximately 30 ft to the floor. Employee #1 and the coworker were communicating with each other by radio. The coworker stated that Employee #1 radioed and told him that he was locking out the crane's control power. Several seconds later, the coworker heard a strange noise. Looking down, he saw Employee #1laying on the floor. The coworker stated that when he climbed down to the cab platform he found that Employee #1 put the lock's hasp through the lock out device on the electrical box and switch arm, but did not lock the lock. The crane's control power switch was located on a bulkhead perpendicular and next to the boarding entrance to the crane. The boarding entrance was protected by a slack single chain that was measured 39 in. from the platform floor on each end and 34 in. from the platform floor in the center. It is believed that Employee #1 lost his balance when locking out the crane's control power and fell over the top of the single chain. There was no witness of the accident.
Keywords: chain, platform, control lever, electrician, fall, bridge, switchgear, lost balance, crane
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 310483144 Fatality Other Electricians

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close