Powered by GoogleTranslate

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 308530930 - Port Elevator-Brownsville, L.C.

Inspection Information - Office: Corpus Christi

Nr: 308530930Report ID: 0626000Open Date: 04/27/2005

Port Elevator-Brownsville, L.C.
9155 R.L. Ostos Road
Brownsville, TX 78521
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC: 5153/Grain and Field Beans
NAICS: 425120/Wholesale Trade Agents and Brokers

Inspection Type:Accident
Scope:Complete Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:10/19/2005
Emphasis: L:Amputate, L:Fall, L:GrainClose Case:12/21/2007

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident100212265    
 Referral200212017 Yes  

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 8 3 1 12
Current Violations 6 3 2 11
Initial Penalty $15,500 $105,000 $120,500
Current Penalty $6,300 $63,000 $69,300
FTA Amount

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
Deleted 1. 01001 Serious 19100023 A03 10/24/2005 11/03/2005 $0 $2,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01002 Serious 19100023 C01 10/24/2005 11/03/2005 $350 $1,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 01003 Serious 19100027 C06 10/24/2005 11/03/2005 $400 $1,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 01004 Serious 19100027 D03 10/05/2005 10/18/2005 $600 $1,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  5. 01005 Other 19100215 B09 10/24/2005 11/03/2005 $0 $1,750 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  6. 01006 Serious 19100272 G01 I 10/24/2005 11/03/2005 $2,100 $3,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  7. 01007 Serious 19100272 G01 IV 10/24/2005 11/03/2005 $2,100 $3,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  8. 01008A Serious 19100303 B02 10/24/2005 11/03/2005 $750 $1,250 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  9. 01008B Serious 19100305 G02 III 10/24/2005 11/03/2005 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  10. 02001A Willful 19100272 E01 II 10/24/2005 11/03/2005 $21,000 $35,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  11. 02001B Willful 19100272 E02 10/24/2005 11/03/2005 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  12. 02002 Willful 19100272 G01 II 10/24/2005 11/03/2005 $21,000 $35,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  13. 02003 Willful 19100272 G02 10/24/2005 11/03/2005 $21,000 $35,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  14. 03001 Other 19100253 A03 10/24/2005 11/03/2005 $0 $0 $0 -

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 200211696Event: 04/26/2005Employee Dies Due To Asphyxia
At approximately 3:45 p.m. on April 26, 2005, Employee #1 was shoveling grain lo cated behind some flathouse doors. Employee #1 became engulfed by the grain and sunk to the spout region of the flathouse, where grain exits and enters on a con veyor belt. Coworkers attempted to rescue him, with no success. Emergency servic es were contacted, but before Employee #1 could be rescued he suffocated and die d.
Keywords: oxygen deficiency, asphyxiated, suffocated, grain, work station, caught between, manual mat handling, untrained, grain bin
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 308530930 Fatality Asphyxia Occupation not reported

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close