Powered by GoogleTranslate

Inspection Detail

Inspection: 306207523 - Clement Grain Co.

Inspection Information - Office: Fort Worth

Nr: 306207523Report ID: 0636900Open Date: 08/18/2004

Clement Grain Co.
733 Hood Street
Waco, TX 76704
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC: 5153/Grain and Field Beans
NAICS: 424510/Grain and Field Bean Merchant Wholesalers

Inspection Type:Accident
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:12/13/2004
Close Case:06/06/2005

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident361132251    

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 5 5
Current Violations 1 1
Initial Penalty $7,500 $7,500
Current Penalty $500 $500
FTA Amount

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 19100272 D 12/13/2004 02/01/2005 $500 $1,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 2. 01002 Serious 19100272 E01 12/13/2004 02/01/2005 $1,500 $1,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 3. 01003 Serious 19100272 H01 12/13/2004 02/01/2005 $1,500 $1,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 4. 01004 Serious 19100272 H02 I 12/13/2004 02/01/2005 $1,500 $1,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 5. 01005 Serious 19100272 I01 12/13/2004 02/01/2005 $1,500 $1,500 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 200712362Event: 08/16/2004Employee Dies Of Asphyxia In Grain Silo
On August 16, 2004, an employee entered a grain pit, corn pit, to retrieve a cra nk wrench; a wrench used to open the slide on the truck. Apparently, the wrench slipped through the open grates. When the employee entered the grain pit, the em ployee was taken down; no one closed off the slide and grain, the corn continued to flow. The pit was a gravity flow system with mechanical slide to control the flow of grain to the elevator bucket. The employee died as a result of asphyxia due to employee's bronchi was filled with yellow corn.
Keywords: lung, asphyxiated, slip, grain bin
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 306207523 Fatality Asphyxia Laborers, except construction

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close