Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Case Status: OPEN

Note: The following inspection has not been indicated as closed. Please be aware that the information shown may change, e.g. violations may be added or deleted. For open cases, in which a citation has been issued, the citation information may not be available for 5 days following receipt by the employer for Federal inspections or for 30 days following receipt by the employer for State inspections.


Case Status: OPEN

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 5 5
Current Violations 2 1 3
Initial Penalty $13,600 $0 $0 $0 $0 $13,600
Current Penalty $3,800 $0 $0 $0 $0 $3,800
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Other 19100132 D02 02/11/2022 02/22/2022 $0 $2,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 2. 01002A Serious 19100134 C01 02/11/2022 02/22/2022 $2,000 $2,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 01002B Serious 19100134 E02 I 02/11/2022 02/22/2022 $1,000 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 01002C Serious 19100134 F01 02/11/2022 02/22/2022 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 5. 01003 Serious 19100134 K 02/11/2022 02/22/2022 $2,000 $2,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  6. 01004A Serious 19100146 C05 II H 02/11/2022 02/22/2022 $2,800 $5,600 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 7. 01004B Serious 19100146 D01 02/11/2022 02/22/2022 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 8. 01004C Serious 19100146 K02 IV 02/11/2022 03/09/2022 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 9. 01005 Serious 19101200 H01 02/11/2022 03/09/2022 $2,000 $2,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 139073.015 Event: 08/29/2021Two Employees Are Killed By Hydrogen Sulfide Exposure
At 11:30 a.m. on August 29, 2021, Employee #1 inserted a tank wash spinner insid e a semi-tanker, which later started draining slowly. Employee #1 entered the ta nker to find out why it was draining slowly. Employee #1 lost consciousness whil e inside the tanker and Employee #2 went inside the tanker to render help when h e also was overcome by high levels of hydrogen sulfide gas. Both employees died due toxic gas exposure.
Keywords: asphyxiated, chemical exposure, confined space, hydrogen sulfide, lung, overexposure, respiratory tract, tank cleaning, tank truck, toxic fumes, tractor trailer, unconsciousness
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 1552146.015 Fatality Laborers, except construction
2 1552146.015 Fatality Laborers, except construction

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close