Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Case Status: OPEN

Note: The following inspection has not been indicated as closed. Please be aware that the information shown may change, e.g. violations may be added or deleted. For open cases, in which a citation has been issued, the citation information may not be available for 5 days following receipt by the employer for Federal inspections or for 30 days following receipt by the employer for State inspections.


Case Status: OPEN

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 4 4 8
Current Violations 4 4 8
Initial Penalty $21,844 $0 $0 $8,314 $0 $30,158
Current Penalty $18,000 $0 $0 $0 $0 $18,000
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 19100094 A05 IV 08/31/2021 09/20/2021 $4,500 $5,461 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01002 Serious 19100134 E01 08/31/2021 09/20/2021 $4,500 $5,461 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 01003A Serious 19100146 C04 08/31/2021 09/20/2021 $4,500 $5,461 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 01003B Serious 19100146 G01 08/31/2021 09/20/2021 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  5. 01004 Serious 19101200 E01 08/31/2021 09/20/2021 $4,500 $5,461 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  6. 02001 Other 19040039 A01 08/31/2021 $0 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  7. 02002 Other 19100132 D01 08/31/2021 09/20/2021 $0 $438 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  8. 02003 Other 19100132 F01 08/31/2021 09/20/2021 $0 $438 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  9. 02004 Other 19100134 K03 08/31/2021 09/20/2021 $0 $438 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 134968.015 Event: 04/19/2021One Employee Is Killed And One Is Injured Cleaning Water Tan
At 2:00 p.m. on April 19, 2021, two employees were directed to clean the exterio r and interior of a 2500 gallon tank of a water truck. The water truck was a use d truck that had been bought at an auction. The company had sandblasted it to pr epare it to be painted and then were going to put it in use controlling dust at the company worksite. The employees used the 24 inch opening on top of the truck to enter the tank. The employees were wiping the inside with gasoline saturated rags. The employees did not have any type of personal protective equipment and there were no confined space procedures in place. A coworker came into the area and did not hear any noises and asked how it was going. There was no response so he climbed to the top of the truck and looked in and saw the two employees coll apsed. The coworker ran to get help and other coworkers came to get the employee s out of the tank. One employee was revived with CPR but the other employee died .
Keywords: cleaning, confined space, cpr, gasoline, overcome by gas, respirator, tank truck, water tank
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 1526275.015 Fatality Laborers, except construction

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close