Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Note: The following inspection has not been indicated as closed. Please be aware that the information shown may change, e.g. violations may be added or deleted. For open cases, in which a citation has been issued, the citation information may not be available for 5 days following receipt by the employer for Federal inspections or for 30 days following receipt by the employer for State inspections.

Inspection: 1512081.015 - Spi / Mobile Pulley Works, Inc

Inspection Information - Office: Mobile

Nr: 1512081.015Report ID: 0418600Open Date: 01/28/2021

Spi / Mobile Pulley Works, Inc
905 South Ann Streetnull
Mobile, AL 36605
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC:
NAICS: 333120/Construction Machinery Manufacturing
Mailing: P.O. Box 50010null, Mobile, AL 36609

Inspection Type:Fat/Cat
Scope:Complete Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:01/28/2021
Close Case:

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident1726405    

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 11 2 13
Current Violations 7 7
Initial Penalty $89,141 $0 $0 $0 $0 $89,141
Current Penalty $45,500 $0 $0 $0 $0 $45,500
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 5A0001 07/19/2021 09/09/2021 $6,500 $13,653 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01002 Serious 19100030 A03 IV 07/19/2021 09/09/2021 $6,500 $7,022 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 3. 01003 Serious 19100178 L04 III 07/19/2021 07/29/2021 $7,022 $7,022 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 4. 01004A Serious 19100179 B05 07/19/2021 07/27/2021 $7,022 $7,022 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  5. 01004B Serious 19100179 J03 07/19/2021 09/09/2021 $6,500 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 6. 01005 Serious 19100212 A01 07/19/2021 07/29/2021 $8,778 $8,778 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  7. 01006A Serious 19101053 C 07/19/2021 09/09/2021 $6,500 $8,778 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 8. 01006B Serious 19101053 F01 07/19/2021 07/29/2021 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  9. 01006C Serious 19101053 G01 IV 07/19/2021 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  10. 01006D Serious 19100134 D03 IV B 07/19/2021 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  11. 01007A Serious 19101053 G02 07/19/2021 $6,500 $7,022 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  12. 01007B Serious 19100134 E01 07/19/2021 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  13. 01007C Serious 19100134 F02 07/19/2021 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 14. 01008 Serious 19101053 D03 IV 07/19/2021 07/29/2021 $7,022 $7,022 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 15. 01009 Serious 19101053 I01 I 07/19/2021 07/29/2021 $8,778 $8,778 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  16. 01010A Serious 19101053 J01 07/19/2021 09/09/2021 $6,500 $7,022 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  17. 01010B Serious 19101053 J03 I 07/19/2021 09/09/2021 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  18. 01010C Serious 19101053 J03 II 07/19/2021 09/09/2021 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  19. 01011A Serious 19101053 E02 I 07/19/2021 09/09/2021 $6,500 $7,022 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  20. 01011B Serious 19101053 E02 II 07/19/2021 09/09/2021 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  21. 01011C Serious 19101053 J02 07/19/2021 09/09/2021 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 22. 02001 Other 19100134 K06 07/19/2021 07/27/2021 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 23. 02002 Other 19100184 E03 I 07/19/2021 07/29/2021 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 132788.015Event: 01/27/2021Employee Is Killed After Being Caught In Drive Shaft Of Cran
At 2:30 p.m. on January 27, 2021, an employee was on top of a crane trolley guid ing wire rope onto the hoist drum. The employee and his coworkers were conductin g conventional reeving of a new hoisting wire rope. The process required the emp loyees to loop a cable around the drum and then lower it to the bottom block and back to the drum several times while adjusting the cables with an equalizer. Du ring this process, the employee became caught in the drive shaft of the crane tr olley and was killed.
Keywords: caught in, crane, crane block, crane operator, drive shaft, drum, guide, hoist, hoisting mechanism, rigging, rope, support cable, wire rope
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 1512081.015 Fatality Machinery maintenance occupations

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close