Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Note: The following inspection has not been indicated as closed. Please be aware that the information shown may change, e.g. violations may be added or deleted. For open cases, in which a citation has been issued, the citation information may not be available for 5 days following receipt by the employer for Federal inspections or for 30 days following receipt by the employer for State inspections.

Inspection: 1511686.015 - 74838 - Innovative Fibers Llc

Inspection Information - Office: South Carolina Priv

Nr: 1511686.015Report ID: 0454510Open Date: 01/24/2021

74838 - Innovative Fibers Llc
185 Littlejohn Stnull
Spartanburg, SC 29301
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC: 2821/Plastics Materials, Synthetic Resins, and Nonvulcanizable Elastomers
NAICS: 325211/Plastics Material and Resin Manufacturing
Mailing: 185 Littlejohn Stnull, Spartanburg, SC 29301

Inspection Type:Fat/Cat
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:07/16/2021
Close Case:

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident1724479    

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 4 4
Current Violations 2 2
Initial Penalty $8,875 $0 $0 $0 $0 $8,875
Current Penalty $3,625 $0 $0 $0 $0 $3,625
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
Deleted 1. 01001 Serious 19100147 C04 I 07/19/2021 08/02/2021 $1,625 $1,625 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01002 Serious 19100147 C04 II 07/19/2021 08/16/2021 $1,625 $1,625 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 3. 01003 Serious 19100147 D04 I 07/19/2021 07/23/2021 $2,000 $2,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 01004A Serious 19100147 C04 I 07/19/2021 08/16/2021 $2,000 $1,625 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  5. 01004B Serious 19100147 D04 I 07/19/2021 08/16/2021 $0 $2,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 132754.015Event: 01/24/2021Employee Is Killed By Asphyxiation After Being Caught Betwee
At 1:15 a.m. on January 24, 2021, an employee was training a coworker how to ope rate a baler after receiving a maintenance request on the machine. The employee climbed up and on the baler while showing the coworker how to take care of the r equest. The baler activated and the door opened pinning the employee between the door and the metal bar on the side of the machine which asphyxiated and killed him.
Keywords: asphyxiated, automatic machine, baler, baler door, caught between, caught by, chest, climbing, crushed, door, equipment operator, machine guarding, machine operator, maintenance, metal bar, pinned, training
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 1511686.015 Fatality Occupation not reported

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close