Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Note: The following inspection has not been indicated as closed. Please be aware that the information shown may change, e.g. violations may be added or deleted. For open cases, in which a citation has been issued, the citation information may not be available for 5 days following receipt by the employer for Federal inspections or for 30 days following receipt by the employer for State inspections.

Inspection: 1505885.015 - Express Carriers Corporation

Inspection Information - Office: Calumet City

Nr: 1505885.015Report ID: 0521700Open Date: 12/10/2020

Express Carriers Corporation
3301 Wireton Rd., Unit 100s
Blue Island, IL 60406
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC:
NAICS: 532120/ Truck, Utility Trailer, and RV (Recreational Vehicle) Rental and Leasing
Mailing: 3301 Wireton Rd. Unit 100s, Blue Island, IL 60406

Inspection Type:Fat/Cat
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:12/10/2020
Emphasis: L:Fall, L:PivClose Case:

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident1703398    

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 3 3 6
Current Violations 3 2 5
Initial Penalty $32,767 $0 $0 $10,533 $0 $43,300
Current Penalty $24,500 $0 $0 $500 $0 $25,000
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 5A0001 04/21/2021 05/17/2021 $10,000 $13,653 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01002 Serious 19100027 A 04/21/2021 05/17/2021 $4,500 $5,461 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 01003A Serious 19100178 L03 I A 04/21/2021 06/08/2021 $10,000 $13,653 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 01003B Serious 19100178 L03 II A 04/21/2021 06/08/2021 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  5. 02001 Other 19040029 A 04/21/2021 05/17/2021 $500 $780 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 6. 02002 Other 19040039 A01 04/21/2021 $9,753 $9,753 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  7. 02003 Other 19100178 L04 III 04/21/2021 06/08/2021 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 131601.015Event: 11/25/2020Employee Is Killed By Overturned Forklift Truck
At 3:33 p.m. on November 25, 2020, Employee #1, a mechanic, was installing a lig ht on a utility from a pallet raised by the forks of a Toyota Forklift Truck Mod el #8FGCU25. The forklift truck became stuck in mud and/or asphalt millings. A c oworker attempted to pull the forklift truck out of mud and/or asphalt millings using tow chains and a Freightliner Semi-Tractor. Tow chains were attached to on e tow hook on the passenger side of the front of a semi-tractor and around the f rame (i.e., vertical bars supporting the overhead guard) of the forklift directl y behind the operator's seat. Employee #1 was in the operator's seat of the fork lift attempting to reverse the forklift while the coworker operated the semi-tra ctor. When the coworker accelerated the semi-tractor in reverse, the forklift ti pped over onto its side pinning Employee #1's head to the ground by the overhead guard of the forklift. Employee #1 was killed by multiple blunt force injuries.
Keywords: blunt force, blunt force trauma, crushed, forklift, installing, overturn, pallet, pinned, powered industrial vehicle, tractor trailer
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 1505885.015 Fatality Bus, truck and stationary engine mechanics

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close