Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Alert: Due to routine maintenance on the OSHA website, some pages may be temporarily unavailable.
To report an emergency, file a complaint with OSHA or ask a safety and health question, call 1-800-321-6742 (OSHA).

Inspection Detail

Case Status: CLOSED

Case Status: CLOSED

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 4 4
Current Violations 3 1 4
Initial Penalty $15,912 $0 $0 $0 $0 $15,912
Current Penalty $11,934 $0 $0 $1,500 $0 $13,434
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 27-11-105 (B)(VI)(A) 01/07/2021 02/03/2021 $3,978 $3,978 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01002 Other 19040039 A02 01/07/2021 02/03/2021 $1,500 $3,978 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 01003 Serious 19260021 B02 01/07/2021 02/03/2021 $3,978 $3,978 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 01004A Serious 19260453 B02 V 01/07/2021 02/03/2021 $3,978 $3,978 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  5. 01004B Serious 19260453 B02 IX 01/07/2021 02/03/2021 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 130325.015 Event: 10/06/2020Employee Dies After Falling From Unguarded Platform Basket
On October 6, 2020, Employee #1, employed by a construction company, was working at a multi-employer construction project for a new residential structure. He w as using a SkyTrak Rough Terrain Forklift with a homemade platform basket and in stalling exterior siding. The platform basket had no side rails, and the employ ee was not using a personal fall arrest system. The employee walked backward on the platform and fell from the unguarded right side, a fall height of 17 feet. He hit his head on a concrete patio. Emergency services transported the employ ee to the hospital, where he died of fall-related injuries two weeks later.
Keywords: aerial lift, basket, blunt force trauma, brain, concrete slab, elevated work platform, fall, fall protection, forklift, guardrail, head, installing, open-sided floor, residential construction, siding, skull, struck a
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 1495897.015 Fatality Carpenters

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close